1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

RJ 45 Splitter

Discussion in 'DMX, E1.31 & Networking' started by Superman, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
    Can I use a standard 8 pin splitter to "T" out to 2 DMX controllers?
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    RJ45 Splitters

    An excellent question Steve. This has come up a few times in chat. I'll create a wiki page with an explanation of the two different types of RJ45 modular splitters and where they can be used. Stay tuned...
     
  3. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    OK, I've done up the wiki page here. I can add more information if required.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
    Nice Job.
    Not the answer I wanted to hear, But at least i wont have to find out the hard way.
    I was hoping to "T" it off to a first controller in a 3m run then continue off to a second controller 7m away.
    I will now just daisy chain the controllers and double back on cables.
     
  5. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    That may or may not work Steve. It's "out of spec", but sometimes things work fine anyway.
     
  6. dmoore

    dmoore Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    I used plenty of them in my 2010 display without issue. YMMV
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
    What lengths did you get out of them David?
     
  8. SmartAlecLights

    SmartAlecLights Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    i used example 2 from the wiki to tee off to each controller, i have tested from the t to the controller at 1meter, but told 20cm is too long
     
  9. rmturner54

    rmturner54 New Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waxahachie, Texas
    My first time to post here. Been reading for a long time. In your wiki explanation, the way I read it is this,
    The first example is talking about crossover Cat5 used in PC communication where you have a send and rcv signal that has to be the opposite on either end, otherwise nothing will happen.

    The second example is talking about a straight thru Cat5....I.E. for DMX.

    Just my 2 cents worth.........great forum......tons of good info.
     
  10. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    No, there is no usage of crossover cables on that wiki page.
     

Share This Page