rPi-28D+ now available

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3,708
Location
Eaglehawk
The rPi-28D+ pixel and DMX cape for the Raspberry Pi is now available. It is essentially the same as the rPi-28D but with fuses for the 3 pixel outputs. The board is supplied with 3 7.5A ATO fuses but can be used with up to 10A fuses meaning that up to around 180-200 pixels per output can be powered at 100% brightness.
The boards are $AU38 including GST which works out to around $USD24.40 or £18.55. There is discounts for bulk quantities and they ship pretty near anywhere in the world.
http://www.hansonelectronics.com.au/product/rpi-28dplus/
-Supports 2 2811 pixel outputs
-Supports 1 2801 pixel output
-Supports 1 non-isolated DMX outputs
-Runs under Falcon Player (FPP)
-Has 75HC245 to level shift signals from Raspberry Pi 3.3V logic to 5V logic
-Can power cape and Raspberry Pi from 5V or 12V input
-Uncommitted connection to GPIO26 pin for external use. Powering down, starting show, changing sequence etc.
-Mounting holes to suit Pi 2, Pi 3 and Pi Zero
-Real Time Clock (RTC) for show scheduling
-Supplied with M2.5 Nylon spacers to separate the Pi and rPi-28D
-3 fused power inputs for the 3 pixel outputs. 5V , 12V and/or 24V pixels can be connected
-Supplied with 3 7.5A ATO automotive fuses
 

Attachments

Leevi Graham

New elf
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
8
From the manual

> Using the WS2811 outputs disables the onboard audio and external usb audio must be plugged in and configured if needed.

Is this still the case with the rPi-28D+?
 

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3,708
Location
Eaglehawk
From the manual

> Using the WS2811 outputs disables the onboard audio and external usb audio must be plugged in and configured if needed.

Is this still the case with the rPi-28D+?
It's the case with all capes/hats/caps that use the 2811 output. It has something to do with the PWM circuitry and audio circuitry needing the same stuff. It's above my pay grade.
 

Pavle

Just starting out...
Joined
Nov 7, 2020
Messages
40
Location
Sydney
I was playing around with a couple of sequences that had audio media and when I attempted to play those, all pixels went bright white and only a full restart would fix it. I don't have an external sound card so put it down to a glitch where it was attempting to use onboard audio that wasn't available due to the hat. Once I removed (or loaded as sequence only) those sequences from my playlist I was back in business.
 

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3,708
Location
Eaglehawk
I was playing around with a couple of sequences that had audio media and when I attempted to play those, all pixels went bright white and only a full restart would fix it. I don't have an external sound card so put it down to a glitch where it was attempting to use onboard audio that wasn't available due to the hat. Once I removed (or loaded as sequence only) those sequences from my playlist I was back in business.
What version of FPP were/are you using? That shouldn't occur and FPP "should" disable the audio if the pi pixel strings are enabled. At 1 stage FPP used to have issues if there was an audio file and no audio device. Maybe the fix for that has caused other issues.
 

Pavle

Just starting out...
Joined
Nov 7, 2020
Messages
40
Location
Sydney
@AAH finally got around to getting my other string going tonight and using the new instructions you have on your site I can confirm both port 1 & 2 are functioning as they should.

now to fix up the sequences to use the new layout.

I’ve also ordered a sound card so will be able to test the issue I was having above once it arrives.
 
  • Like
Reactions: AAH
Top