Sequencing pixel plane with HLS

Discussion in 'HLS (Hinkle's Lighting Sequencer)' started by Madko, Jan 13, 2013.

  1. Madko

    Madko Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castle Hill NSW
    Hey all

    I'm trying to make a sequence within a HLS pixel plane. What I'm trying to control is one 5 meter strip of 2811. 1 IC for 3 pixels for one large arch. I have set up my group which consists of 450 pixel channels (3 channels per pixel RGB) so now when I'm creating my sequence with the group do I need to turn on each red of each pixel at the same time within the first IC segment? As there is 1 IC for 3 pixels therefore the first 3 pixels will all come on together and can't be individually turned on in this section.
    Hope this makes sense and hopefully I'm going down the right path. The HLS tutorial videos I have watched don't talk about this.
    I would connect everything up and just test it but I don't have the order yet and I'm playing around with the software.
    Cheers
     
  2. CDN_Diesel

    CDN_Diesel New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chilliwack, BC
    I am just getting into Pixels, so i will not be of much help at this time. The best person, aside from Joe, to ask is Angus40. He has a ton of experience with HLS and pixel planes and segments. Shoot him a PM.
     
  3. angus40

    angus40 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    This sounds like your confusing leds with pixels .
    1 ic controls 3 leds . each group of 3 leds make 1 pixel .
    if your using segments for your arch you define each segments # of pixels and create the work group for your arch segments .

    Once that is done you can create your effects as you see fit in the editor.
    Your 5 meter strip is 10 ic's per meter ? If so that would be 50 pixels or 50 rgb channelsfor the entire strip in hls's manage raw channels .

    hope this helps
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Madko

    Madko Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castle Hill NSW
    Yes the 5 meter strip I'm being sent from Ray is the 2811, 10 IC per meter, 30 pixels per meter.
    Excuse my lack of knowledge but wouldn't it be 150 channels per 5 meter strip, one channel for each colour?
    Or, does the chip do all the colour control? Meaning what colour you choose in HLS is the data that is sent to the chip and that turns on that channel and the required colour?
     
  5. GoofyGuy

    GoofyGuy Guest

    Sounds like its 10 IC's per meter, 30 LED's per meters. So its 10 pixels of 3 leds per meter making the strip 50 pixels total, but 150 leds.
     
  6. angus40

    angus40 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please read the Guide on this page >>>
    http://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php/topic,1889.0.html

    This will be a huge eye opener . I have read this many times .
    Also David Moore has some great videos that will help you as much as they educated me . http://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php/topic,759.0.html

    Your at the best site for learning this hobby .

    Cheers
     

Share This Page