Starting afresh with LOR and having the 240v debate

dropbear_luke

Full time elf
Hi,
I've been doing christmas light displays for a few years now, and want to upgrade to include the LOR musical lighted sequences. However, I'm having an internal debate about 240v vs DC. I want things to be easy enough for my first year, but not ridiculously expensive. I am planning on a 16 channel display, and want to know what is the best way to go about this. I Know I need to but a board which can come either fully put together or as a kit. Is the kit easy to assemble?
Also, i was reading previous posts and understand the cordests are expensive to ship, so i have a feeling i will be not getting these and buying some cheapies here and changing them over.
I am unsure however on the power input cable and the "?jumper"
My father is an electrician, and i grew up doing lots of electrical stuff, so i understand some things, and my father is going to help where i need it. Any help would be appreciated still though. Also, is there any cheap housing units in australia, or what do other ppl use?
Thanks for your help.

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Welcome to ACL Luke
Before you commit to anything what sort of lights are you controlling or planning on controlling. If the lights are 240V and don't use plugpacks (ropelights and my-t-brite led strings are virtually all that are natively 240V) then 240VAC is an option.
The kit isn't that hard to build if you have reasonable soldering experience.
If you go with 240V the cordsets are probably going to cost you $3 to $5 to make up per lead.
If you go with DC it is possible to get non LOR DC boards $60 for 27 channels, $200 for $48 channels and good quality led strings especially designed for DC direct from China from under $10 (in reasonable quantity) landed in Aussie.
Popping into chat and having a talk over what lights you've got, what you want etc can save you a lot of trawling.

David_AVD

Grandpa Elf