1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

The dreaded flickers

Discussion in 'Tips and Tricks' started by Beacy, Dec 20, 2011.

  1. Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    I have a board that for some reason intermittently all the channels/lights flicker on and off very fast for about 5-10 secs. There is nothing in LSP to tell them to do this, I have changed boards, renumbered channels, changed universes, cat 5 cable, DR4 output to a completely different unit but it still happens. It is not at any set time during the songs and doesn't follow any pattern of channels on other controllers that it is occurring on.


    The PSU is connected to this board and another and the other one doesnt flicker so I guess it rules out the PSU.


    Any suggestions
     
  2. Dave

    Dave Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Perth
    Last year i had a heap of hassels with the dongle i was using. It would stop a set of lights or a goup of lights for one song and the next it would be fine.
    This year i'm using a dr4 with no problems.

    Dave
     
  3. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    Given you've swapped controllers over, and the same controller does the same thing in a different part of the display, suggests to me that the controller is buggered.

    Now, how to fix it - I'll leave that up to the experts! What type of controller is it?
     
  4. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Below are bits and pieces from chat related to this discussion. Nothing resolved yet.

    (15:49:07) AAH: what sort of board beacy and are all the lights flickering synchronous with each other(15:50:33) Beacy: it was a t48 but now its a AVD DC48 with Ver1.1 and yes all at the same time and it appears to be every channel

    (17:56:37) Beacy: The only common issue is that it happens just b4 during or after I have a signale going to channels 1-6 on universe 1 board 1 - but the problem is on universe 22 that is no where near the other board
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    made an error in chat - this board I haven't changed it is stil a t48 - Ive run out of boards to switch it with till tomorrow.


    Ive also run a test sequence removing and signal going to channels 1-6 on Universe 1 - issue still occurs
    Tried changing start channel on board to 11 to remove and conflict with ch 1-6 still occurs
     
  6. Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
    Have you tried it with a new sequence with that stand alone universe. I did have some randomness awhile ago and it was something to do with LSP. I found the problem after I layed it out on a big Spread sheet.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    Just tried it no good - still got nutso flickers
     
  8. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,500
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I had the same issue with a T48 and i found that i had a FET burnt out on the board that was causing issues as the T48 does not have DMX isolation like the AVD boards and the bad FET must have been playing havoc with the signal and voltage. So i would check that the FETS are all ok and also a good spray of CO2 contact spray may help if you have any dirt and dust on the board
     

Share This Page