Answered Understanding ports & channels

Pavle

Rank updated… 2 season veteran
Hi All,

Let me preface this by saying I am very new to controllers and I am just trying to get my head around the entire controller setup using xLights.
I am using the RPI-28D+ and falcon player.

I was successful in setting up the controller and running 2 models from a single port (WS2811 pixel string 1) - essentially it's one string wired across a tree and star.
Sequences work, falcon player shows the model names etc and everything is still working great.

Seemed like a good time to attempt adding a small string of pixels (45 nodes) onto the 2nd port.

Channel setup is 1 to 315 (105 pixel count) on port 1 (working :thumbsup:)

Initially I setup the 2nd port from channel 316 and I was getting no output from the string. I've also tried 513 being the start of the next universe.
I was trying to follow this video from Keith and he recommends starting each port in a new universe at channel 1 - this is 3 year old advice so is this still advisable?

The RPI-28D manual suggests sticking to the 512 rule so universe 1 is 1 to 512 and universe 2 is 513 to 1024 and so on.

When I initially setup falcon player, I manually keyed all the data in for all 16 universes this device can output.
I've seen from youtube videos xLights pushing the config across, but I haven't been able to do this (I'm assuming it's because it's not an actual falcon board).

I'm pretty sure my issue is based on the configuration of the 'Input/Output' -> 'Channel Ouputs' -> 'other' screen,
From Hanson Electronics page, I am unable to replicate this screen the same. I do not have an option for RPIWS281X, I can only add a 2nd SPI-WS2801

Appreciate any help to point me in the right direction, thanks.

Last edited:

Derf

am now a 5v hypocrite
Xlights is becoming the program where you don't really need to understand Universes / Channels as it will upload all of that information for you.