Wall Mounted Cabinet for controllers etc

denno020

Apprentice elf
Joined
Nov 22, 2016
Messages
85
Location
Adelaide
I've been wanting to get something to mount on my wall to house all the electrical connections, essentially a command center, but not necessarily with any power supplies, just with controllers/distribution boards.

Ideally I'd get another electricity meter box, but they're proving hard to track down, and a bit expensive, so I was looking on Bunnings' website for something that might work. I've come across this (image and link below).
Has anyone tried using something like this?
I haven't looked at it in person yet, but I don't think it would be too hard to drill holes into the bottom of it. I guess my only concern would be the obvious gaps around the door, so perhaps I could put something on the inside to prevent water getting in. And then just general rust preventing..

https://www.bunnings.com.au/pinnacle-600-x-600-x-250mm-matte-black-wall-mounted-cabinet_p0038057
 

David_AVD

Bite my shiny metal ass!
Community project designer
Generous elf
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
4,065
Location
Victoria Point (Brisbane)
By the time you do all that you're back at the price of a meter box? I got mine for about $125 + GST I think.

The meter box also has a nice base plate on hinges. I put the PSUs on the rear and controller on the front of mine.
 
  • Like
Reactions: AAH

denno020

Apprentice elf
Joined
Nov 22, 2016
Messages
85
Location
Adelaide
By the time you do all that you're back at the price of a meter box? I got mine for about $125 + GST I think.

The meter box also has a nice base plate on hinges. I put the PSUs on the rear and controller on the front of mine.
The meter boxes I can find for around this price aren't anywhere near as big.. Where did you get yours?
 

bpratt

Full Time elf
Joined
Mar 31, 2019
Messages
139
Location
Jimboomba, Queensland

denno020

Apprentice elf
Joined
Nov 22, 2016
Messages
85
Location
Adelaide
Oh awesome, thanks!

Can I ask, the bits are the bottom, what are they, and can they be removed? I'm not sure they'll be necessary for my low voltage application :)
 

bpratt

Full Time elf
Joined
Mar 31, 2019
Messages
139
Location
Jimboomba, Queensland
DIN rail for the circuit breakers, as you won't be using them you could remove it, and leave it all open.... allowing room to sit things on the bottom or whatever you choose to do.
 

denno020

Apprentice elf
Joined
Nov 22, 2016
Messages
85
Location
Adelaide
Just wanted to update anyone who comes to this later as to what I actually bought. I did go with a legit electricity meter box, but not from sparky direct, as there seemed to be some issues with delivery to Adelaide.
Anyway, this is the one that I've bought: https://directwholesale.com.au/en/AUD/Direct-Wholesale/Electrical-Wholesale/Clipsal-Products/METERBOX-QLD-METER-PROV-&-21MOD-DIN/p/9997107DWSJ17.

It arrived yesterday, and safe to same I'm pretty excited! It's certainly deeper that I was hoping for, it's going to stick out from the wall a bit more than I was hoping, but does mean I'll have plenty of room in there! I do wonder, how would these normally be attached to a brick wall? Just 4 dynabolts into the brick?

Anyway, see attached or some photos of it out of the box :)
 

Attachments

David_AVD

Bite my shiny metal ass!
Community project designer
Generous elf
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
4,065
Location
Victoria Point (Brisbane)
I attached mine to a piece of painted ply that is the same width, but has an overhang at the top and bottom. That's where I attached mine to the wall.
 

denno020

Apprentice elf
Joined
Nov 22, 2016
Messages
85
Location
Adelaide
Thanks for the replies guys! One more question, if I may.. Looking at the box of the box, there are circles which appear to be "punch out" points.. Ad these holes are pretty large relative to a bolt, I'm wondering if these are the holes I should be using to mount, or are these for passing electrical wires in (when it's being used for its intended purposes)? I've attached an images to make it a bit clearer as to what I'm talking about.
If not for mounting, then I guess just drilling 4 holes new into the near-corners of the back should be fine?
 

Attachments

Top