What do I need or how do I adapt my RGB to connect to controllers?

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by thieleclan, Sep 5, 2014.

  1. thieleclan

    thieleclan New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lyndoch, SA
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    You can cut the supplied plugs off and add your own plugs / extension cables.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    thieleclan

    thieleclan New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lyndoch, SA
    Am I right in assuming from what I can peer through the bulb that there is a +ve wire...line without a chip by the looks of it and then a R,G and B that would become a channel each with bare wire into our 12v DC controller. No data because of them being dumb. (bit like me with this at the moment? :p ) Also I can't see a direction arrow so I assume it doesn't matter which end we connect?
     
  4. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Yes, if they are dumb strings one wire will be the (common) +ve and the other 3 will be the red, green and blue channel -ve wires.

    Yes, dumb strings can be wired from either direction.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    thieleclan

    thieleclan New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lyndoch, SA
    Thanks so much for your help. I had a brief moment of panic and thinking I wouldn't bother, but think I have my head around it now. ;)
    Just been and ordered 3 more DC48 controllers for them now!
     

Share This Page