Where to get DC power supplies?

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by dropbear_luke, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. dropbear_luke

    dropbear_luke Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    Hi,
    Just asking where everyone gets their power supplies from. Who sells the best quality at an affordable price.
    Im thinking of purchasing a variable voltage unit first, to be able to test different strings for their ideal voltage, but then once i find this out, i plan on buying which ever one it is i need, for eg:24v, 30v, 12v.
    Any help appreciated.
    Luke :D
     
  2. joeengler

    joeengler Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garden City, MI 48135
    I got my power supplies from the Ray Wu store, I know several other people have also. Great price and have not had any bad to say about any of my orders.
     
  3. magii

    magii Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    4530 Larissa Drive, Lawrence, KS
  4. mmciver

    mmciver New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Magii,

    Where is the lab supply store in Phoenix? and Are you in Phoenix? If so, I am also!!!

    Mike
     
  5. magii

    magii Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    4530 Larissa Drive, Lawrence, KS
    http://www.circuitspecialists.com/

    I'm actually in Kansas. These guys had the best prices stateside (no shipping from China) that I could find anywhere. I got ALL of my 24v stuff from them.
     
  6. kel

    kel Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tenterfield, NSW/Qld border
  7. aussiexmas

    aussiexmas Sinnamon Lights

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane - Australia
    Hi Luke
    After initially using a couple of old DC power supplies, a series of resistors and 2 multimeters to test out light strings, last year I bought an inexpensive variable supply with built in voltage and current measurement which has made testing far easier, (0-30V, 0-5A). http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Linear-Adjustable-Variable-DC-Power-Supply-30V-5A-Digital-Power-Supply-PS305D-/360396453994?pt=AU_Components&hash=item53e94d786a While the current measurement in the mA mode only has a resolution of 3-4 mA, I have found this unit to be perfectly adequate for all my light string testing.

    For my DC power supplies for the show, I have used 350W units mainly from Asia Engineer http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/27V-DC-13A-350W-Regulated-Switching-Power-Supply-/250672020078?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3a5d377a6e These carry a MW logo - I don't know whether they are "MeanWell", but I have had no problems with these units. Cost wise including shipping, they are about the same as Ray Wu's PSUs which from the illustrations carry no logo.

    Hope this helps - Geoff
     
  8. Robbo

    Robbo Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyabb-Victoria

    I saw the above item on ebay but found a cheaper but very similar product, although it says $110 as opposed to $99 it has free delivery making it $11 cheaper than the one Geoff purchased, David_AVD bought the 3A version for $90 and says it works well which is really what helped convince me to buy this same product.


    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/ATTEN-Adjustable-Variable-Power-Supply-30V-5A-OZ-240V-PLUG-WRT-HIGH-QUALITY-/260865454237?pt=AU_B_I_Electrical_Test_Equipment&hash=item3cbccaf09d


    as for power supplies, I have not invested in any yet but will most likely try the Ray Wu ones
     
  9. aussiexmas

    aussiexmas Sinnamon Lights

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane - Australia
    Hi Robbo
    I went for the slightly dearer supply because it had a button to convert the current display between mA(0-999) and A(0.00-5.00). While the extra resolution only turned out to be to +/-2 mA, I saw this as an advantage over the 10mA resolution of the other unit. The one I bought also has a temperature controlled fan thus eliminating any need to modify fan operation for low power operation.
    Geoff
     
  10. Robbo

    Robbo Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyabb-Victoria

    ahhhh yes very good points and therefore worth the extra money spent, as the supply i got has an "ALWAYS" on fan and it is a little on the noisy side :)
     
  11. Shane

    Shane New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wilton, NSW

    Thanks for the Link Geoff,
    I was not aware there was a model with the Hi/Low amp switch on the front to change the AmpMeter readout. Just ordered one.
    I was the same, power supplies, multi-meters and cables everywhere. Hopefully this will tidy up the workshop a little

    Shane
    Wilton, NSW
     

Share This Page