1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

1/4 jack strobe control

Discussion in 'Strobes - LED or Others' started by BoonDogs, Jan 11, 2016.

  1. BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    Hey guys..

    So I have some old strobes at home, the traditional stage lighting type. They have a 1/4 inch jack for control in and out. Is there any way and if so, how would I be able to control these in my show? I can include a photo later if it'll help
     
  2. bjpc2716

    bjpc2716 need more lights to light up the world

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    melbourne
    Find Me On:
    please show as a photo
     
  3. OP
    OP
    BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    Top right
     

    Attached Files:

  4. bjpc2716

    bjpc2716 need more lights to light up the world

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    melbourne
    Find Me On:
    how about LOR 240v controller
     
  5. OP
    OP
    BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    Can't dim or control speed... I thought someone may have seen something out there
     
  6. bjpc2716

    bjpc2716 need more lights to light up the world

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    melbourne
    Find Me On:
    control speed a variable switch?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    Wanted to be able to do it in xLights.. Doesn't look like I can. Oh well
     
  8. bjpc2716

    bjpc2716 need more lights to light up the world

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    melbourne
    Find Me On:
    all my one as xlr plugs
     
  9. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,497
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I'm wondering if the line in is the trigger and the line out allows for daisy chaining.

    Unfortunately a quick search of the internet for this model didn't bring up anything
     
  10. bjpc2716

    bjpc2716 need more lights to light up the world

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    melbourne
    Find Me On:
    eddy i think it tigger for sound that jack
     
  11. Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
    Totally Agree with that. Sound trigger pass thru.
     
  12. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,525
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    It could be either a sound trigger or a 5V pulse trigger.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    Was thinking I could just tap into the speed variable controller that is already built it. I tested it today and I found that when you turned it up higher the voltage increased (to 60vdc). If i can find a way to switch that through a controller then I can just adjust the voltage to control the speed and hook a relay up to it for 240vac power so it doesn't have to stay switched on the entire time.
     
  14. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    10
    I thought Light-O-Rama had a DC controller that could handle up to 60V. I don't fully understand the setup you're describing but the problem is that none of the DC controllers adjust the output voltage. If you have it dimming 60V then it is actually flashing 60V really fast for a lower total light output. The flashing is too fast to see without connecting LEDs and waving them around. In my opinion another problem with Light-O-Rama is their pricing.
     
  15. SmartAlecLights

    SmartAlecLights Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    easyest way..
    open up the strobe an check what section of the controller board is connected to the jack..
    i remember some just needed to short the jack (eg switch) ,
    others needed a trigger pulse.
    an some jacks were for sound input..

    so it realy depends on how its connected inside.
    the wrong connection could easy do damage to the unit
     

Share This Page