1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

1 string of lights has a mind of its own?!?!

Discussion in 'Computers, Cabling & Other Miscellaneous Hardware' started by Giles1, Dec 4, 2018.

  1. OP
    OP
    Giles1

    Giles1 Giles

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Can anyone advise how I should show my spare ports on my F16v3 Controller? Last year I only had a 4 port controller, so I didn’t have any spare ports to warry about.

    I’ve currently shown the spare ports in the Port Configuration page of my Controller on Universe-1 with one Null Node (3 channels) per spare port (just to show something). My show now starts on Universe-2, just to keep them separate? Is there a better way of doing this, or is it even necessary?

    I’ve tried using the new upload function in xLights, but I just can’t seem to get this working correctly.

    Any pointers you could give would really be appreciated.
     
  2. Nuzzy

    Nuzzy Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Denmark
  3. OP
    OP
    Giles1

    Giles1 Giles

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Brisbane
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Giles1

    Giles1 Giles

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I finally worked out why I was having issues with the fourth port on all of my F16V3 Differential Receiver Boards. It is a real TRAP and hopefully, this will stop others encountering this issue in the future.

    I was worried about leaving standard Ethernet Cables out in the Weather/Sun, so I ordered some outdoor Cables. These Cables appeared to be just the same as the indoor Blue Cables, but just with a different outer sheath (Yellow)
    upload_2019-1-8_12-46-45.png .

    (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/30M-Ext...utdoor-RJ45-LOT-/401213408631?var=&hash=item0)

    After trying all suggestions I received from the group, I then used a Network Testing Tool on each of the outdoor Ethernet Cables.

    upload_2019-1-8_12-46-45.png

    This Tool showed that 7 conductors were connected on all of my outdoor cables.

    However, from memory, I thought there should have been 8 conductors. I then tested one of my standard blue Ethernet Cables I already had, and sure enough, it showed 8 conductors were connected.

    I then replaced the outdoor yellow Ethernet Cables with my old indoor blue Ethernet ones and the issue was gone.

    Has anyone come across an issue like this in the past, or have I just ordered the wrong type of Ethernet Cable? If so, could someone please advise a suitable kind of outdoor Ethernet Cable, that I can use this year?
     
  5. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass! Community Project Designer Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,904
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Grab yourself some new connectors and a crimp tool so you can replaced the ends. Hopefully the issue is bad connector crimping and not faulty cable.
     
    ezellner likes this.
  6. OP
    OP
    Giles1

    Giles1 Giles

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'm not really confidant with putting on new connectors, but I suppose I have nothing to loose by giving it a go.
    So, as I had the same issue with all three cables I'm really suspicious of the cables them selves.
     

Share This Page