JamesC

New elf
I am new to the this and would like some advice on what to use.
I want to do a 20’ mega tree next year and I would like to know what components I will need to do it.

I will be using 64 strands with 2” spacing for 120 pixels per strand or 7680 total leds for the tree plus a star at the top.

It looks like I will have to use 8 350 watt power supply’s.

What kind of controller or controllers will I need?
What else will I need to make this tree?

I want to start with the mega tree and I want to start big.

Any help is greatly appreciated. I want to add to this every year and install permanent led lights on the house and be able to put on a show for the neighborhood.

TerryK

Retired Elf
Welcome to ACL.

That's a sizable project to begin toying with animated RGB displays. Generally it's better to start with several small props until one has a better feel regarding hardware and how to build a display. As to controllers, just about any of the larger controllers can drive that many pixels. The number of power supplies will depend upon the maximum pixel drive level (some individuals design to 100%, others less) and to a lesser extent the pixel voltage/type. Something to consider is using a smaller quantity of higher wattage supplies, perhaps moving to 500, 750, or 1000 watt supplies instead of the 350s.

ACL's Media and/or Display Video sections have some MEGA Tree builds that will help give you an idea of what you are planning.

JamesC

New elf
Yes I found a 1000 watt power supply that will work. I found that on another site that said I needed 8 350 watt. I checked the power requirements of the lights and 1000 will run them with a lot of room to spare.

I’ve been told I should start smaller but that’s not me. I have always been overkill on everything I do. It usually works out well.