1. Hello Christmas Expo attendees, welcome to AusChristmasLighting!
    Download your copy of the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual (free account required)
    Introduce yourself and tell us about your display plans
  2. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

4 Core Security Cable 7/0.20 White

Discussion in 'Christmas Light Shopping Bargains' started by gmoolenaar, Nov 11, 2013.

  1. gmoolenaar

    gmoolenaar New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass! Community Project Designer Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    172
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    That size would be ok for very low current items such as Big W strings, but too thin for pixels. The larger one (14/0.2) is better for most applications but is more expensive of course. I think "Electricians Warehouse" has 4 and 6 core 14/0.20 security cable at pretty hot prices.
     
  3. DeeJai

    DeeJai Is that Magic Smoke?!?

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    No longer in Radelaide
  4. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass! Community Project Designer Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    172
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Yeah, that's a pretty hot price Matt. It seems to have a thinner outer sheath than the Altronics one, but perfectly fine for Christmas lights. :)
     
  5. Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    Ive used Altronics once - never again 10 days for the stock to arrive
     
  6. damo1271

    damo1271 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Find Me On:
    Building Technologies Online has a webpage and you can pick up if you're local:
    http://www.bt-online.com.au/cable/
    They have very good prices and I've bought a bit of cable from them - all pick up direct from shop. Smartalec put me onto them.
     
  7. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,592
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I buy from the same guy but in a 300 metre roll and use the 14/020

    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Security-Cable-6-Core-14-020-305m-Box-White-Accesss-Control-Security-Cable-/251149064833?pt=AU_Television_Accessories&hash=item3a79a69a81


    I originally used the 7/020 from altronics a few years back but the cable I linked to above seems far better value and has a higher current capacity
     
  8. DanJ

    DanJ Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was planning to use some 20 gauge T-stat cable (locally available from Home Depot) for about a 60' RGB run. Is this security core wire 14 AWG? That seems really "heavy" for RGB apps (?). Thx.
     
  9. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass! Community Project Designer Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    172
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
  10. adski

    adski Dave Brown

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Two Wells, SA
    It's Metric - 14/0.20 = 14 conductors each 0.2mm diameter - about 21 AWG

    Dave
     
  11. DanJ

    DanJ Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok. Thx Dave. Appreciate the info. I am planning to use a 14 AWG/5 conductor cable . I figured I could double up on power conductors if needed in case I have nuisance voltage drop..
     
  12. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass! Community Project Designer Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    172
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    If you ever have just one extra wire, use it to double up the ground (-ve) instead of the +ve.
     
  13. dpavisic

    dpavisic Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Why double up the ground? I'm sure there is a reason which I don't understand.
     
  14. Charl Marais

    Charl Marais For my twins was the excuse I started with.

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Secunda
    Find Me On:
    Your signal cable references ground so with reduced resistance on the ground line you have improved signal definition as a bonus and still get the current rating you were looking for.
     
  15. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass! Community Project Designer Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    172
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    To clarify; I was talking about pixel strings.

    There's two electrical paths sharing the ground; the power to run the LEDs and the data reference.

    Excessive drop in either ground or V+ will lead to duller lights, so doubling either would be an advantage.

    Excessive drop in the ground wire will also introduce a shift in the received logic levels that pixels needs to receive reliably. Doubling the V+ wire will not help, but doubling the ground wire will help.

    So, doubling the ground wire helps both ways, but doubling the V+ (only) helps in only one way.


    Now, if we're talking about "dumb" RGB strings, doubling up the common wire (usually the V+) is e way to go as that's the wire that has the sum of the individual (colour) currents.
     

Share This Page