1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Adjusting P10 Brightness Level

Discussion in 'LED Panels' started by BradsXmasLights, Sep 1, 2015.

  1. BradsXmasLights

    BradsXmasLights WiFi Interactive

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Find Me On:
    I tested my 25 panel P10 setup with 10 different brightness levels hidden inside the Falcon Player.


    Results below, as measured from cheap ebay current meter/shunt. (expect for the final value which had to be measured via multimeter as the ebay special maxed out at 50A) Not entirely sure about this little ebay meter's calibrations, particularly at the lower levels (under reading by maybe <=1A) but at higher levels it seems to match up with against my multimeter. Value below also include BBB own power consumption.


    [attachimg=1]


    I also tried brightness 12 whilst playing a video and it spiked at 59A of a 60A supply. Did not try that one on full White!!!


    IMO I actually think decreasing the value to 5 made my video content look better. This is definitely something that won;t be decided until everything is setup and it's brightness can be compared against the rest of the display.


    Having said that I'm finding my video content is going to need careful tuning to get brightness/contrast/saturation and maybe gamma levels set correctly so it looks clearer on the panels.


    To change the BBB's brightness level, you need to modify the PRU source code & recompile. (Thanks to Phil for asking the question on the Falcon forums http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,2727.15.html

    SSH to your BBB machine.
    cd /opt/fpp/src/pru
    sudo nano FalconMatrix.p
    (then edit the Brightness level line from the default 7 value)
    sudo make
    sudo make release

    Then restart the FPPD service for it to update.

     

    Attached Files:

  2. OP
    OP
    BradsXmasLights

    BradsXmasLights WiFi Interactive

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Find Me On:
  3. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    Brad what is the PRU source code and how do I get access to it to change it??
     
  4. gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    If u are using xlights, would it not be easier to change the brightness level of the model ie the dimming curve value ?
     
  5. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    yeah was just reading about that and could not agree more gerry
     
  6. OP
    OP
    BradsXmasLights

    BradsXmasLights WiFi Interactive

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Find Me On:
    Ben, you need to SSH (terminal) in to the BBB/FPP installation and edit the source code, as per the last paragraph of the original post.


    Why would you do this?


    Well to a lesser extent, it's effectively hard-coding the brightness limits (and power consumption) in to the system, so your sequence can't go brighter - or of course can be made brighter than default.


    Reducing brightness this way i think is better than just trying to ride the lower portion of sequencer's brightness scale. It then also saves having to export sequences again if you need to quickly make a global brightness change.
     
  7. BundyRoy

    BundyRoy Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    1

    Just watched the video and for what it's worth I thought level 4 looked the best.
     
  8. Phrog30

    Phrog30 New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    Absolutely. I don't understand why you wouldn't do that. Sometimes there might be a need to change the brightness on a per effect basis.

    James

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page