Current rating of waterproof connectors?

Discussion in 'Computers, Cabling & Other Miscellaneous Hardware' started by kane, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    I use a heap of the waterproof connectors (purchased from Ray, but obviously available elsewhere as well), but just wondering if anyone knows what current they'll safely support - or is there an easy way of finding this out?

    I would take a guess at around 5A, but that's only my gut feeling!

    I can obviously ask Ray, but obviously you have to take what he says with a grain of salt.
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
  3. OP
    OP
    kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    I do have a caliper meter, but not sure how accurate it is - will give it a go tonight

    Otherwise, might try and compare the strand sizes to a known cable size and go from there

    Thanks once again!
     
  4. lithgowlights

    lithgowlights Senior Elf

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Lithgow, NSW
    Find Me On:
    Last year the maximum vurrent I ran through them was around 3.5A (on the return core of an RGB Item) without issues, but that was probably a little exceeding their real capacity. I believe Ray has said 2 to 3 Amps, to various people so I guess it is whatever you feel safe pushing them to.

    For higher current items I have used Anderson connectors to power remote boards rather than run a lot of current through the 2 pin versions
     
  5. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    It's worth counting and measuring the strands as the 2, 3, 4 & 5 pin ones had different sized cable when I chose mine last year.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    Yeah, I think I only went up to around 3.5a max as well. My problem is that I like to use them for everything, to make setup as easy as possible. But no point running a 10A cable and then hooking it up to a connector that can only support 3A.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    Just heard back from Ray regarding these - "it shoould be 6A ."
    Hmmm - doesn't instil a huge amount of confidence.
     

Share This Page