da_E131: Test utility for E1.31 systems

Discussion in 'Sequencers & Software Tools' started by David_AVD, Dec 14, 2010.

  1. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    I've written a simple bit of software to send E1.31 data to items such as Ed's DR4.

    It is available for download here.
     
  2. riri7707

    riri7707 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paris / France
    Hi David,
    Seems to be a very usefull good tool...

    Just very good welcome in time to check the TRIO LSP/ECG/TP problems....

    Thanks a lot.....

    Henri
     
  3. dmoore

    dmoore Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    Thanks David for taking the time to produce this tool. It will surely help during troubleshooting software and hardware issues involving a E131 based network.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    As per my post in another thread, the da_E131 software is not yet complete.

    I thought I'd get the first version out there and see what the shortcomings are and what else is needed.

    Comments, bug reports and suggestions are welcomed. :)
     
  5. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Great work David, this will help a lot of people out when testing and setting up and you slapped it together in such little time, im now starting to wonder what other great things you have in your bag of tricks
     
  6. dmoore

    dmoore Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    David - it works great! Exactly what I needed. Thanks so much for your work!

    david
     
  7. OP
    OP
    David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    I've given da_E131 its own web page here.
     
  8. dmoore

    dmoore Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    David -

    I just use the tool to track down several mis-addressed corostars in my display and I also found one that had a bad set of LEDs.

    If you didn't do any additional updates, it would be fine as is! That said... :)

    * An option to output 255 to universes x to y, ideally in RGB (for those that are primarily RGB)
    * Just a few notches higher on the chase speed or up to 22ms
    * Add an output indicator for the speed of output (ms?)
     
  9. OP
    OP
    David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    I've just changed the chase "Rate" to "Delay ms" to make it clearer. It now ranges from 20ms to 2000ms (2 sec) updates. That should address points 2 and 3.

    Can you detail item 1 more? I take it you want to send 255 (fully on) to all channels in a range of universes? Can the data output be slower seeing it's static?

    I'll upload the updated version tonight.
     
  10. dmoore

    dmoore Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    What I'm attempting to do is turn on every light in the display, ideally in RGB. Where this would be useful is checking your entire display for bad lights all at once.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    OK, the RGB confused me. Sounds like you just need to turn every channel on. It should make no difference if they are RGB or single channels in that case.

    Or.... did you mean one colour at a time?
     
  12. OP
    OP
    David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    I'm now adding "Idle Repeat" controls. When enabled, the program will send the last E1.31 packet as specified by the "Delay ms" control in that section.

    Without this, after you stop moving the intensity sliders, or in between chase steps, the DR4 would receive no data and go into the "Keep Alive" mode.

    So, this new "Idle Repeat" function (if enabled) makes sure a packet goes out at least every x milliseconds.
     
  13. ptone

    ptone New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    FYI - for those on Mac/Linux - you get some of this from OLA's built in javascript based console

    [​IMG]

    -Preston
     
  14. dmoore

    dmoore Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    Currently it is possible to select to output 255 accross all channels in a single universe, or selected groupings of channels (RGB). What I was looking at was the ability to output that same data to not just the current universe, but several universes all at once. So say, universes 1-5 could all have the intensity of their channels set to, say, 255. By doing this, it allows you to go outside and see where you have "holes" from bad pixels, bulbs, devices. I generally try to go outside each night and check to see that everything is working and having everything on at one time would make quick work of that.

    So, that would mean that there would need to be a start (which is already there) and an end universe for output.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    OK, I understand now. It would be possible. I just have to have a think about how to implement it.
     

Share This Page