1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Does HLS Support DMX Open Dongles?

Discussion in 'HLS (Hinkle's Lighting Sequencer)' started by David_AVD, Oct 11, 2013.

  1. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    I looked around, even downloaded the software but can't figure this out.

    Does the HLS software support output via a "DMX Open" dongle?
     
  2. angus40

    angus40 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes it does

    steps to take to get it configured
    open sequence
    add channels and set to a universe # ie )1
    create a display group for these channels
    now click on the output / select output method and compile for show

    you will see your channels and univers assignment click on transport and select usb- dmx .

    then you can select your dmx dongle type .

    hope this helps
     
  3. angus40

    angus40 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    just to note other than comport and ip settings , all output ptotocols are selected and set after a display group is created
    0 channel assignments will show in output config dialog until you have a display group and universe # created for them .

    Cheers
     
  4. OP
    OP
    David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Thanks for that. I had a customer (ACL member) ask so have directed him to this thread. :)
     
  5. Adam007

    Adam007 Adam007

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    QLD
    Thanks David & Angus.

    Angus my original question to David stemmed from this box:

    [​IMG]

    Which is found in the Output > Setup COM ports menu.

    I know the COM port number, but was unsure on the rest of the settings. I will just have a tinker this weekend, and see what I can come up with :)
     
  6. angus40

    angus40 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Adam007

    Adam007 Adam007

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    QLD
    I got it going just now before seeing your video anyhow.

    Thanks for it tho, hopefully someone will make use.

    And yay! I have blinky blinky :)
     
  8. angus40

    angus40 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Done with the puppies and running with the big dogs then eh !

    Congrats :)
     

Share This Page