Hello from Glen Ellyn, IL

Adam Mufich

New elf
Hello everyone. Am completely new to this. I have zero experience. I have been watching videos for months. I just finished reading the 101 guide. I bought a few strands of smart pixels, a falcon controller, and a power supply (probably prematurely). I am a bit overwhelmed with the computer side of it. Like connecting and configuring a controller, raspberry pi, fm transmitter. The one thing I have going for me is I am strong at electrical and wiring. I did download the newest version of xlights.

Does anyone have any advice?

My goad is to do a simple house outline. Eventually I would like to do a mega tree, a matrix over the garage door, and two small windows, and maybe some leaping arches, or a wreath. I am not looking to go full out Clark Griswald quite yet but I have seen some seriously impressive shows with a house outline and a few other focal pieces.

uncledan

Senior elf
Generous elf
Welcome to ACL Adam. I have a strong electrical background as well. Computers and networking... not so much... Lots of people willing to help out here. Drop by chat, if you have questions, someone usually lurking and willing to help. Watch lots of tutorials on Xlights and get familiar with it now. Xlights Zoom will be helpful as well. You have plenty of time, just dont drag your feet and wait until the last minute when people are busy setting up their displays and dont have time to help. House outline is a great place to start. Don't bite off more than you can chew. Its not fun... I know from experience.

OzAz

Senior elf
Global moderator
Welcome Adam, some people manage to do the whole lot in their first year, but it takes a lot of time and dedication. Dan's tip is true, the other advantage of starting smaller, is you can add new elements each year, which gives repeat viewers something new to look at.