Hi and first year help - save time or save money?

Iain

Full time elf
Hi all,

great to see my fellow Aussie nutters doing light shows! I've been asked to help a local not-for-profit do a small-ish display and given it's so close to Christmas already I'm going to try and build something simple - eg just some smart LED strips around eaves, roof and stars, doing some simple fades/sparkles etc. with the aim to reuse and improve next year.

My total budget is about $1k for parts and as easy as possible for my time. I was going to get a LOR Pixie16 and 40-50m of Cosmic Color ribbon/bullets etc, with the LOR software as it looks fairly easy to get going (programming/networking/audio I do for a living)

Then I discovered this place and Ali Express and I'm wondering if I should go down that route instead as it looks a bit cheaper:
  1. Ray Wu's pixel strip instead of the LOR CCR-II (can't post links)
  2. PixCon16 instead of a Pixie16 so I have more compatibility with different strips
  3. still get the LOR software
It looks like Ray's strips are 72W instead of the CCR 36W - are they really that much better than LOR strips and half the price?

What do you experts think? If I can get it delivered in 2 weeks, that leaves 1 week for setup to have it running all December.

Thanks for your help :) Looking forward to seeing what you all do this year!

djgra79

My name is Graham & I love flashing lights!
Global moderator
Generous elf
Welcome to ACL!
Getting stock from China in 2 weeks at this time of year is a tight timeline. It probably wont make it to be honest.
There may be some options locally but you will pay more for it. I'll let any others chime in if they know of stockists, but going down the LOR path can be expensive and you'll find not many membes are using that system any longer.
Good luck!

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Welcome to ACL
I'd go with Xlights for a start as it does a whole lot more than LOR and it's free.