Holiday Coro and LOR

Discussion in 'LOR General Discussion' started by Fleagle, May 10, 2012.

  1. Fleagle

    Fleagle New Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I got my lights from Holidaycoro and very pleased with them, everything is working fine until I try to use them with my LOR. this is due to communications problems, LOR being non standard Cat 5 cables.



    Is there any reason that I can not take and make a cable that moves the data signal from what LOR uses to what is standard orange, orange/white. deleting all other pairs, so that their is no cross talk or fead back.



    Has anyone tried this and will it work?


    this has also been posted to Planet Christmas.
     
  2. Blickensderfer

    Blickensderfer Ohio, USA

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gnadenhutten, OH
    Find Me On:
  3. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Don't forget that you can't drive DMX controllers with a native LOR data stream. To use DMX controllers in LOR, you need S3 Advanced and you need to set it up for DMX mode.
     
  4. Donny M. Carter

    Donny M. Carter Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ocean Springs, MS
    Find Me On:
    You can also use S2 with an ELOR and have 1 universe for around $100!
     
  5. dmoore

    dmoore Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    Feel free to call us at (731) 432-6761 and I'll be happy to walk through all your options as there are many and they depend on our display direction.
     
  6. ponddude

    ponddude Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pompton Plains, NJ

    Also, use the ELOR with RPM's E1.31 Bridge. You get about 4 DMX networks for under $200 bucks AND it is basically plug 'n play. No need to worry about configurations within the ethernet network if you just want basic control. I am running 2 of these setups for our Rainbow Pixel testing...working like a charm!


    Greg
     

Share This Page