Kulp controller K4-PB

jollyzee

New elf
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
14
As mentioned before - follow the instructions in the manual with the tethering method (worked for me the second time around, because I skipped a step). You also will have to have wireless dongle of some sort to connect to your wireless network; which also "assumes" you have a wireless network
 

chris19681986

Apprentice elf
Joined
Jan 2, 2021
Messages
73
As mentioned before - follow the instructions in the manual with the tethering method (worked for me the second time around, because I skipped a step). You also will have to have wireless dongle of some sort to connect to your wireless network; which also "assumes" you have a wireless network
Yes I got both strings working yesterday evening for a couple minutes then it all stopped. That little card was scorching hot. Didn't mean to have it laying on a towel. I'll see if it works thursday. Thanks
 

Old Salt

Apprentice elf
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
63
Did you connect the K4-PB to your computer, and your 5V power supply? Your USB cable and the PSU will fight each other if you did. This can cause over heating due to high currents.

Never connect two sources of power to the K4. If you need to connect to your computer and pixel strings, don't connect the +5V line from the PSU to the K4.
Connect the ground from the PSU to the K4. Connect the ground and data from the K4 to the pixel strings, and the +5V and ground from the PSU to the pixel strings.
 

chris19681986

Apprentice elf
Joined
Jan 2, 2021
Messages
73
I'm sure that's what happened. Forgot it was connected. Its now connected just to the psu al ok ng with the 2 strings. Hope it just got to hot and shut down. I will probably see if I can get the lights to come on after work instead if waiting till thursday in case I have to get a new card. Thanks again
 

chris19681986

Apprentice elf
Joined
Jan 2, 2021
Messages
73
Did you connect the K4-PB to your computer, and your 5V power supply? Your USB cable and the PSU will fight each other if you did. This can cause over heating due to high currents.

Never connect two sources of power to the K4. If you need to connect to your computer and pixel strings, don't connect the +5V line from the PSU to the K4.
Connect the ground from the PSU to the K4. Connect the ground and data from the K4 to the pixel strings, and the +5V and ground from the PSU to the pixel strings.
Tried it when I got home. Both strings came on, each going to their own port. Here is a question as the same thing happened yesterday. I enable testing in fpp and yeah, all lights come on. I shut testing off, close browser and open xlights. Card shows up, all setting are correct. I set up sequence to run lights that will be on front of house. Hit save, or whatever, output to lightsand push play. No lights come on. Close xlights. Log back in to my fpp, hit test. Nothing. So time to watch a xlights setup video
 

BAZMick

Full time elf
Generous elf
Joined
Nov 26, 2019
Messages
233
Tick the "Enable saCN,E1.31" check box on the input page inn FPP, top LH corner ??
Otherwise post some screen shots of the xlights layout string config, xlights controller tab, and the input and output pages of FPP please?
 

chris19681986

Apprentice elf
Joined
Jan 2, 2021
Messages
73
I'm first going to get 3 rolls of 18ga wire and solder the connections. Plus it may fit better into the connectors. I know I'm jumping the gun and skipping ahead instead of taking my tim instead of learning the right way. I also have another k4-pb on the way just in case that's part of my issue
 

Old Salt

Apprentice elf
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
63
If you are considering going further with xLights, think about the K16-AB or K32-AB. The cost with the Beagle Bone is significantly more, but they can easily be used as an emergency replacement for the K4-PB. In addition, they'll allow audio and further future expansion.
 

chris19681986

Apprentice elf
Joined
Jan 2, 2021
Messages
73
If you are considering going further with xLights, think about the K16-AB or K32-AB. The cost with the Beagle Bone is significantly more, but they can easily be used as an emergency replacement for the K4-PB. In addition, they'll allow audio and further future expansion.
Couldnt I get a separate audio card or is that not possible? Thanks
 

pilotman06

New elf
Joined
Dec 13, 2020
Messages
10
I am having trouble with my K8-B controller as well. I ordered it with the Beaglebone black with FPP already installed. When I connect my pixels to any of the 8 onboard ports, I get nothing. Testing via on-board buttons does nothing, neither a test or sequence via FPP. However, if I connect a differential receiver to port 9-12 and connect the same strand to port 9, everything works. Test buttons, test page, sequences. Both K8-B and differential connected to same PSU. All 8 green lights near fuses are on and multimeter is showing ~12V at the end of my string when connected to any of the ports 1-8. Every once and a while a few pixels at the beginning of the string will come on randomly at random colors when connected to the K8-B. No way to turn them off short of pulling power.

received a replacement K8-B and same issue. Works great on a differential board. Unresponsive attached to K8-B.
 

chris19681986

Apprentice elf
Joined
Jan 2, 2021
Messages
73
I am having trouble with my K8-B controller as well. I ordered it with the Beaglebone black with FPP already installed. When I connect my pixels to any of the 8 onboard ports, I get nothing. Testing via on-board buttons does nothing, neither a test or sequence via FPP. However, if I connect a differential receiver to port 9-12 and connect the same strand to port 9, everything works. Test buttons, test page, sequences. Both K8-B and differential connected to same PSU. All 8 green lights near fuses are on and multimeter is showing ~12V at the end of my string when connected to any of the ports 1-8. Every once and a while a few pixels at the beginning of the string will come on randomly at random colors when connected to the K8-B. No way to turn them off short of pulling power.

received a replacement K8-B and same issue. Works great on a differential board. Unresponsive attached to K8-B.
 

chris19681986

Apprentice elf
Joined
Jan 2, 2021
Messages
73
Have you configured your ports in fpp? Nothing will happen unless you do that. You are one step further as I get no lights. It's totally dead. On it's way back to kulp.
 

chris19681986

Apprentice elf
Joined
Jan 2, 2021
Messages
73
Have you contacted @dkulp yet?
On my issue I tried but got no response. I just sent it back today with my receipt and note. Wait and see. Probably just ask for a refund or credit towards a card with ethernet and go that route. Already ran cat 6 to garage and a dedicated 20amp arc fault outlet. Plus if I get this all figured out I want to transmit audio. Each week it gets better
 
Top