Laptop ac adapter

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by cdjazman, Apr 29, 2012.

  1. cdjazman

    cdjazman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    62
    Hello all. I am a newbie to the site and have been mentally exhausted looking at all the great information on here.
    I am looking at upping the ante on my lights this year with the addition of some led strip lights. Being that I am a store manager and not a sparky for a living I would like to ask a question regarding the atached image of a laptop power supply I have spare.
    The question is that would this be able to be used to run some 5050 smd strip lights? Also would the plug be able to be cut off and then attach the wires directly to the lights? (I did say I was not a sparky.... :) :) ;) :p )
    Thanks in advance.
    [​IMG]




    [​IMG]
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass! Community Project Designer Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,676
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    The output of that power pack is 20V. Most of the LED strips are 12V, so unfortunately this won't be suitable.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    cdjazman

    cdjazman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    62
    Oh bugger - oh well looks like it stays in the box of bits then.

    Thanks for the quick reply.
     
  4. oldmanfathertime1000

    oldmanfathertime1000 Computers, music, audio, video, electronics

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Arthur, Louisiana
    cdjazman, The power pack you are showing appears to be for a laptop. The light strips you want to run will come in 3v, 5v & 12v DC types. These strips run on DC voltage, not AC. The power supplies from a desktop computer (not a laptop) will give you those different DC voltages to run your strips. There are some links here in the forum to show you how to use a desktop power supply for this. Good luck with your project.
     
  5. oldmanfathertime1000

    oldmanfathertime1000 Computers, music, audio, video, electronics

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Arthur, Louisiana
    cdjazman, I may need to correct myself about the laptop power supply. It may be 20 v DC & not AC as I stated. However the 20 volts is not what you want, you still need the DC voltage (3v, 5v, 12v) that the strip calls for.
     
  6. SmartAlecLights

    SmartAlecLights Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
  7. OP
    OP
    cdjazman

    cdjazman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    62
  8. SmartAlecLights

    SmartAlecLights Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    i would have to say yes to that
    or better still get a 7amp one just so you dont run the transformer to the max
     

Share This Page