1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

LOR CTB16PC 240vac output latches on - workaround

Discussion in 'LOR 240V AC' started by neilteo, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. neilteo

    neilteo New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chipping Norton
    Hi Yall
    Thought I would share as its a pain. I have some plugpacks running some very basic xmas trees and also icicles. These latch on (easily duped with hardware controller test console). Anyway, plugging a boring old 7watt childs night light in parrallel fixes the issue (stays on even it at 0%).
    But googled around and found this alternative and uses less power. 1uf 250v cap (Jaycar RY6950) and 100ohm 1att (cause I am paranoid) (Jaycar RR2550) both in series and then placed across the load, fixes the issue.
    Neil
     
  2. Christmas in the Shire

    Christmas in the Shire Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sutherland Shire, Sydney NSW
    Find Me On:
    So, what is happening to me this evening is that the channels seem to be leaking. When the CTB16PC has power active, the lights connected to the output have a 5-10% illumination. I liken it to be a similar principle to a tap dripping water.
    For some reason the channels do not close completely and there is a lower 240V ampage leaking out causing the lights to be just illuminated.
    Is this what is being described above as "latching on"?
    Adding load will fix this issue? Do I add load to all channels affected? That could be a little difficult to do!
    Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers
    Christmas in the Shire
     
  3. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,540
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    A ghost load (usually a small resistive load) in parallel with the channel output can help with this.

    There can be a small amount of leakage through the TRIACs when they are off. LEDs only require a sniff of current to be visible at night.

    A ghost load (incorrectly called a "snubber" in the USA) effectively shunts the leakage and prevents the LEDs from illuminating when the channel is off.

    It can also solve the problem of channels not wanting to stay on when they're supposed to.
     
  4. Christmas in the Shire

    Christmas in the Shire Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sutherland Shire, Sydney NSW
    Find Me On:
    Right, so adding load is the key. If I add load to one channel will that effect many channels or the whole card? Adding a ghost load to all of the channels could be difficult to achieve. What I don't understand, it did not happen last year. Same load and no leakage!
    Cheers and thanks
    Christmas in the Shire
     
  5. Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,652
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
    I have the exact same problem here. luckily it's only 1 channel. the string on that channel was joinable so i added another string to the end of it.
     
  6. ryanschristmaslights

    ryanschristmaslights Senior Elf Administrator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Find Me On:
    I had this problem way back in 2008 when I first got the ctb16pc controllers.

    The answer was a visit to Go Lo (or Crazy Clarks or Sams Warehouse) to buy up a few of the $4.20 1 metre rope light motifs, and plugging those into the sticky channels using a powerboard or double adapter. Problem solved.

    I keep the motifs out of view of the display.
     
  7. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,540
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    You would need to apply the ghost load to every channel that has the issue.

    Hard to say. Can be affected a little by wiring layout, temperature, phase of the moon, etc.
     

Share This Page