LSP Scheduler slowing & stopping show

Discussion in 'LightShow Pro (LSP)' started by Beacy, Dec 13, 2014.

  1. Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    Well 2014 will be one to be remebered, finally sorted most of th bugs out of electrics & display load up 3 sequences in LSP Scheduler and after 10mins of optimisation the show starts at have speed, stopping and starting and randomly deleting elements & effects........needless to say one happy camper. NOT.


    All the zone channels are set correctly, the sequences output correctly when played out of sequencer, file sizes range from 16mb to 25 mb.


    Some suggestions would be greaty appreciated.... really begining to question the time, effort, money and grief this hobby tends to bring with it.
     
  2. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    Last year I was having very weird issues with lagging sequences, and switched to a separate network for e1.31 (added a usb network device to the show pc), and this fixed my issues.. If you're in a position to try this, might be worth it. At the very least, if you can isolate your show pc and your e1.31 controllers physically, at least that would rule out network issues..
     
  3. dale82

    dale82 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingaroy
    I would reccommend a reboot of your pc after it optimises it in the scheduler. Once it's in there it will be alright. Also make sure that you are not running wifi along side your connection to your switch. I found with mine it was glitchy with wifi on aswell. See if that helps
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    Show computer is a stand alone and there are no other networks running there is no wireless or any internet working at the time of the show
     
  5. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Have you tried playing around with the Additional Configuration Options which is found at the bottom of the E1.31 output configuration screen
    Here you can set the Periodic or Asynchronous times for data flow which may help your issue.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    Saw that was a bit reluctant to mess with it but nothing ventured nothing gained
     
  7. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Just remember your original settings and just revert back to those if you get no improvement
     
  8. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I would try using the periodic Only option and start at 30ms first then try 100ms and see if there is a difference.
    If there is a difference then it looks like there may be a bandwidth issue and separating your networks could help with this
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    There is only one network, whislt show is on there is no internet or other networks
     
  10. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    What does your network utilization look like when you take a look at the resource monitor
     
  11. gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    Are you running Unicast or multicast ?

    If unicast , then all your configured controllers must be connected , else it simply wont keep time.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    Using Multicast... @ Eddy "resource monitr" not sure where that is
     
  13. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Under task manager there's a tab for network utilisation. This will only show what's happening coming out of you network card and won't necessarily show you have a bottleneck caused by a downstream 10M switch or something like that. If the network card is maxing out then that will show up and you will have no hope downstream.

    Oh . BTW Beacy. LOR rocks :)
     
  14. jediknight2

    jediknight2 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    HLS puts both to shame ATM
     
  15. dale82

    dale82 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingaroy
    I read on the lsp forum today that someone else is having the same issue on an i5 and a large channel count of over 10,000 channels and when they switched to an i7 there wasn't any lag at all. I am not sure what system you are running but for my show pc it's an i7 with no issues. Maybe this could explain it. By chance do you have an i7 you could try? I hope you get it sorted mate
     

Share This Page