matrix help

lightheaded

New elf
Finally worked it out. Went the route of virtual strings. Tried to do a custom model, but couldn't figure it out. Maybe I'll try again later (knowledge is power).
Here is how i did it. Hope this helps anybody.

Thank everybody for your help

Attachments

• Screenshot (2).png
    Screenshot (2).png
    255 KB · Views: 12

merryoncherry

Senior elf
I am not an expert in this, but there are many things that confuse me about your setup. For example, why the 3rd part of the first string starts on channel 299 instead of 289. I also think if you let xLights manage your config this is going to be a nightmare.

I would help you with the custom model if you are willing to try that instead. This gives you the option for xLights to do everything... as you change your layout it will auto-assign universes, configure new props, etc.

lightheaded

New elf
I am not an expert in this, but there are many things that confuse me about your setup. For example, why the 3rd part of the first string starts on channel 299 instead of 289. I also think if you let xLights manage your config this is going to be a nightmare.

I would help you with the custom model if you are willing to try that instead. This gives you the option for xLights to do everything... as you change your layout it will auto-assign universes, configure new props, etc.
Looks like I typed in the wrong value. I'm going to change that. After I figured it out its actually pretty easy. I'm going to sit down and work on a custom model. I have null pixels in the middle of the matrix which I couldn't figure how to due that.

merryoncherry

Senior elf
I started in excel / LibreOffice Calc, and put the values into a spreadsheet.
I didn't make "null pixels", I just put them out off the end of the rows.
The plan will be that we will not use them in the submodel so they won't light up.
Their location doesn't really matter. End of the model seemed like a convenient place to dump them.