1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

My first steps into computer controlled lights

Discussion in 'How is my display put together...' started by Christmas on Clarafield, Dec 4, 2011.

  1. Christmas on Clarafield

    Christmas on Clarafield Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Find Me On:
    For all those newbies out there, here are some of my first steps into computer controlled lighting. After spending a few weeks here on ACL I bought my first DC48, downloaded Vixen and cut up a few Big-W LED strings.

    I now finally have my first 2 channels connect to the board. Hopefully its all OK to flick on the power switch?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    You've used blue as power -ve and brown as power +ve which makes sense. Make sure they are correct at the power supply end.

    The strings are on channels 9 and 13 and appear to be connected correctly. :)
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Christmas on Clarafield

    Christmas on Clarafield Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Find Me On:
    Thanks David

    Here is the connection to the PSU.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    PSU connection are correct. Just make sure you don't leave much exposed wire hanging out each end of the terminals, lest it bend down and short against the chassis or another terminal.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Christmas on Clarafield

    Christmas on Clarafield Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Find Me On:
    I now have 8 channels connected which will run 4 mini trees (2 channels/colours per tree).

    Time for power and the first test...
     

    Attached Files:

  6. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Before you do, you need to trim the output wires so there is no bare wire hanging out of the terminals. You only need to have approx 5mm - 7mm of bare wire. It's easy to trim them back and save any short circuits.
     
  7. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Here's what I mean:

    [​IMG]
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Christmas on Clarafield

    Christmas on Clarafield Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Find Me On:
    Ah yes, that makes sense. Thanks
     
  9. Kreator

    Kreator New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hastings
    Hello, what controller board are you using?
     
  10. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,500
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I see channel 10 and V+ very close to being a dead short, this can blow your output. Use Davids advice when wiring and ensure you dont see any bare copper wires coming out of the terminals and also ensure that when you do put the wire in the terminal that 1 copper strand doesnt bend back and stick out as this also can cause issues.
     
  11. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Hi Kreator,
    pipersmall is using a DC48. The one in my post is a DC24.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Christmas on Clarafield

    Christmas on Clarafield Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Find Me On:
    The DC48 is great and no doubt I will be using multiple boards in 2012.

    I have tidied up all the connections to the board and you can see the 4 mini trees that this now controls.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. random

    random New Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Collaroy, NSW
    I can see that you have used mains flex for your 30V power connection between the PSU and the DC48. Please replace this cable with something more suitable!!!


    It's very bad practice to use mains flex for low voltage cabling, not because it can't handle low voltage at all but because it makes you complacent around that cable type and having habitally used mains flex for low voltage work you may look at a cable sometime in the future (eg next year when you've half forgotten how you wired something) and think it's 30V when it's actually carrying 240V. These can be life-shortening mistakes.


    It is much better practice to only use mains flex for 240V, then you can see visually that it is a high voltage cable. Use Figure 8 for your 30V work.
     
  14. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    This is another reason why these forums are so useful. We sometimes assume that something like this would be common knowledge, but if you haven't done a lot of electronics, then I can certainly understand if it's not something you would think about.

    Much better to double check things (and also allow others to learn), than to blow things up!
     
  15. Steve22537

    Steve22537 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Harrisdale, WA
    Can I put my 10c worth in, try to avoid using 3 core flex (Mains Cable) for your low voltage stuff, can be very messy if you get them mixed up. Figure 8 cable (Mains or Speaker Wire) is a good alternative if Bunnings is your only cable supplier.

    Play safe and stay safe.

    Steve
     

Share This Page