Power directly from power supply

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by jerrymac, Jul 16, 2016.

  1. jerrymac

    jerrymac Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quitman GA
    Find Me On:
    Any reason not use use power directly from the power supply's and only use the controllers for the data? (two wires from the power supply and one from the controller). Power the controller from a wall wart.
     
  2. keithsw1111

    keithsw1111 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Kellyville, NSW
    Find Me On:
    You have to tie the grounds together but otherwise that is how I run all of mine.
     
  3. battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
    You will find most people only use the controller for the data signal.
    I run all my light directly from power supplies, with fuses between lights and power supplies obviously.

    As mentioned, make sure you run a ground wire (and only the ground wire) from each supply to the controller ground. If you don't you will get lots of random flashing on your pixels.

    This allows you to utilise the full amount of pixels a particular controller can output, rather than being limited by its power output.
     
  4. pmflav

    pmflav New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Does the RJ45 from the controller (F16v2 in my case) provide a ground you can tap into for each powersupply? As this won't/shouldn't be a current loading ground.
     
  5. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just have a common connection between the negative output of each power supply and the negative output from the controller. This can be done through the string of pixels.

    You don't want to have the positive outputs connected together.
     
  6. battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
    it will, but the easiest way is to use the ground terminal that powers the controller and join that to the rest of your PSU grounds.
     

Share This Page