1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Question on 10 power cable for 300leds/5m 5050 strip

Discussion in 'Computers, Cabling & Other Miscellaneous Hardware' started by Archades, Nov 30, 2012.

  1. Archades

    Archades New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Far North Queensland
    This is probably a silly question but..

    I have gotten some RGB strips 5050 5m each
    60 LED per meter

    30 LED per meter

    Using this 30amp 12v Power supply

    In the guide I see 4 core 14/020 security cable recommended with 4.5 amps capacity but would that actually handle my 60led per meter cable which is 1.2amp per meter for which I am guessing (.4amp per colour x5m) so 2amps per colour. Will doubling up be sufficient for this or do I need to go a larger cable, from what I gather the common return wire will be getting 6amps? Another option was get the 6core and use 3 for the return?

    Also for 10 meters of power cable when doubling up, should I solder both to the start of the run,1 on each end, or 1 on end and 1 in middle?
     
  2. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Welcome to ACL Archades.
    The distance between what you are controlling the lights with (and power supply) and the lights is 1 of the main factors when selecting cable. How particular you are about consistent colour is the other factor. Either 4 core or 6 will do the job and i'd tend to duplicate the connection from 1 end to the other. Make sure that whatever controller you are using is capable of the 2A per channel too.
     
  3. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Welcome to ACL and there is no such thing as a silly question here. :D

    You can do any of those options, double up conductors, go a heavier guage cable or use the 6 core. The best option to ensure even power distribution across the whole strip is to supply from both ends.
     
  4. Bird

    Bird Proud LOR user

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    [​IMG]
    to ACL Archades
    Like already said, there is never a silly question here.
    Always a lot of friendly people here willing to help.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Archades

    Archades New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Far North Queensland
    Cheers. After driving around tonight n seeing everyone else's display I am even more keen.
    I'll probably be either buying a premade controller or making one with arduino UNO and a PWM break out board, which gives another 16 PWM channels I believe.

    Wish the addressible 5050's were cheaper, 100bucks for 5m :(

    Thanks for the help :)
     
  6. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
  7. OP
    OP
    Archades

    Archades New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Far North Queensland
    Is that 1 IC per 3 leds? I was after 1 for 1, wanted to make this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sbdvrfwr6Sg
    100bucks for 5m is the cheapest I've seen for every pixel addressible. Maybe the price will drop next year :p
     
  8. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
  9. OP
    OP
    Archades

    Archades New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Far North Queensland
    Nice, would a resistor work to drop the voltage to 5v or would it be better to buy a second PSU @ 5v?
     
  10. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    You would be loosing over half your energy in heat and need a decent resistor to drop the voltage from 12vdc to 5vdc with the current required. Better to buy a 5VDC power supply to suit
     
  11. Slite

    Slite Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mölnbo, Sweden
  12. OP
    OP
    Archades

    Archades New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Far North Queensland
    Ahh sweet, was looking for the black ones. Thank-you :D
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Archades

    Archades New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Far North Queensland
    Added both to cart, but it wants to ship separately. Is there a way to combine shipping?
     
  14. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Most of us buy from Ray via email orders rather than the Aliexpress site. If you copy the url's for the parts that ypu want and send an email to Ray he will give you a quote which will include combined shipping. Ray can be paid via paypal that way too.
     
  15. dpavisic

    dpavisic Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Do you know his email address or where I can find it?
     

Share This Page