Rectangular Pixels

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by bob_moody, Jan 12, 2013.

  1. bob_moody

    bob_moody Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville, TX
    Find Me On:
  2. vincerules

    vincerules Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. neilric99

    neilric99 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, the OC, CA
    Find Me On:
    after paying shipping the price is about the same
     
  4. vincerules

    vincerules Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is true, but if he is going to be ordering the other pixel strips and stuff from Ray then shipping isnt as big of a factor.
     
  5. Gilrock

    Gilrock Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Find Me On:
  6. Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,624
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
    my experience with rectangle modules is a moderate failure rate, although mine where the 2801 modules which are the same construction. I had 200 modules in canes and candles in my display and replaces 30 of them throughout the show season. Just thought that was worth a mention.
    They are great to work with.
     
  7. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I used these for my candy canes for 2012, at $12 for a string of 20 they are the same price as the dumb modules so great value. The 256 greay scale just means its 8 bit colour with 256 dimming steps for each colour.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    bob_moody

    bob_moody Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville, TX
    Find Me On:
    Just an update on the order.
    I got the pixels in on sat (01/19/13). Shipping was pretty quick
    I ordered a P2 from Ed on 01/22 and got it yesterday 01/26.

    Set up 40 of the pixels on the bench, configured the P2 and we have light!

    So far no problems. Did have to tie a ground to the clock/data line to stop the shimmer on pixel 1 and other odd behavior.

    I will add that these are very bright.

    Bob
     
  9. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Not really sure what you mean here. Can you expand on that?
     
  10. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Im curious as well, are you saying that you connected your clock and data line to ground, doesnt seem right.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    bob_moody

    bob_moody Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville, TX
    Find Me On:
    Let me clarify...

    Controller: J1Sys P2 - Output is V+, Grnd, Clock and Data
    Pixels: These have only 3 wires - V+, Grnd, Clk/Data

    I'm injecting power to pixels after the P2 not from it...
    So there was only 1 wire from the pixels (clk/data) going to the P2 (Data)

    So I tied the gnd from the P2 to the gnd of the pixels, and everything cleared up...

    By everything cleared up, I had the first pixel shimmering, and then what ever pixel was active, the next would shimmer..

    Bob
     
  12. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Ok that makes sense and is why you always tie grounds together as you didnt have the ground tied directly from the P2 to the first pixel. All the drawing show this tied together and its no surprise you ended up with that result initially.

    the 2811 do not have a clock, its a data wire only
     
  13. Binkles

    Binkles Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Baldivis
    Find Me On:
    Are you in Australia? I ordered my p2 on the 10th and still waiting.....
     
  14. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    He is in the US.

    Normally Australian orders have been sent from Phil and take around a week to 2 but if there is none left and they have been sent direct from the US it can take up to a month with normal shipping
     
  15. Binkles

    Binkles Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Baldivis
    Find Me On:
    Phew. Thanks for that. I'll have to keep that in mind to order early if I need another later in the year.
     

Share This Page