1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Shared Sequences?

Discussion in 'xLights (Nutcracker)' started by lightsonlinden, Jun 23, 2016.

  1. lightsonlinden

    lightsonlinden New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    My first year to attempt all RGB using Xlights and Falcon controllers......I am on a hunt for shared xlights sequences.... can anyone point me to a good source if one exists?


    I am aware of the ones for sale on the nutcracker/xlights store and am considering buying some of those.
     
  2. Gilrock

    Gilrock Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Find Me On:
  3. dennismc

    dennismc New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. OP
    OP
    lightsonlinden

    lightsonlinden New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    Thanks - I am looking for xlights sequences nothing AC related.
     
  5. DrNeutron

    DrNeutron Just starting in this crazy hobby

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Glace Bay
    I think I know what you mean since most of us use pixels and/or dumb RGB when referring to Xlights, but xlights can be used to sequence any AC lights as well. Whether you use AC or DC is more a controller question and not a sequencer topic.
    Another spot you may try looking for sequences is over on the LOR forum, free to sign up and LOR sequences import very easily into Xlights.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    lightsonlinden

    lightsonlinden New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    What is the ease of bring LOR into Xlights?


    Perhaps my thinking is all wrong but if using RGB I have one model can do anything RGB... in LOR AC I have to have multiple channels to make the one model have different colors, etc so it seems to be the import from LOR to Xlights is more difficult.


    I could just be plain ill informed given I am new to this xlights/rgb stuff.
     
  7. DrNeutron

    DrNeutron Just starting in this crazy hobby

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Glace Bay
  8. battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
    Most of the time when people share sequences, all they are really doing is using the data from someone else's sequence to get the timing marks to then add there own effects too.

    This is because everybody has different display elements. Once you have some timing marks to work from selecting the effects can be the easy part (unless your like me and keep fiddling with them for ever).

    So if another sequence has only 50 channels, you can still use the timings from those 50 channels to then drop your RGB effects into your sequence. Hopefully that makes sense.

    Basically, unless you build the exact same props, the exact same way, as someone else's then you won't be able to use their sequences straight up.

    Regards,
    Rowan
     
  9. Gilrock

    Gilrock Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Find Me On:
    So that's not true with xLights because with our design any effect can be placed on any model. We've created an import process where you can map the models from someones else's house to the models on your house. Logan created a Star Wars sequence that a ton of use adapted to our displays last year. That sequence got me on the news as well as at least one or two other xLights users.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    lightsonlinden

    lightsonlinden New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
  11. livetoride

    livetoride Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Find Me On:
    Is there a video to show this Gilrock? I tried importing that very sequence and it just asked me to rename all the props of the original sequence, when I didn't all i got was the timing marks but would love to have another look at it.
     
  12. robj

    robj New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's a video of the process. Xlights is awesome with this remapping feature.

    https://vimeo.com/164802500
     
  13. livetoride

    livetoride Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Find Me On:
    Thanks Rob I knew there was a video somewhere but I couldn't find it, Cheers

    Sent from my SM-N910G using Tapatalk
     
  14. Gilrock

    Gilrock Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Find Me On:
    There is more than one method. You can use the import mapping which is suggested in that video. That feature wasn't as nice when I imported it so I used an alternate method. First I copied all the images to a sub-folder of my show folder. Then I copied the <any_sequence>.xml file over to my show directory. Before I opened it in xLights I opened the xml in Notepad++ and looked for the "c:\" pathnames on one of the images. Then I did a global search/replace to fix that path to the new location under my show folder. So now I was ready to open the sequence. I opened it up and yes you get a ton of questions because you don't have the same model names that he did. So for each model listed you have to decide do you want to delete it or rename it to one of your models which will take all of its effects and put it on your model. So it helps if you first create an alternate show directory where you put all of Logan's files and then open it in xLights to view his sequence. Then you can watch the sequence and decide which of his models you want to map to yours.

    So yeah there is no easy button. It took me about an hour but the result was amazing to have a show that wasn't even designed for my house. It's great because I spend so much time programming I don't have as much time as everyone else to work on my own show.

    And this was the result:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Rw8INjbzZs
     
  15. Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kadina
    Great job Gil, question where can you access Logans Files please
    Cheers Boof63
     

Share This Page