SMS Messaging Application - Send SMS's to your Display

Superman

I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious
Global moderator
Joined
May 29, 2010
Messages
1,757
Location
Ipswich-QLD
It works with a Heart emoji. I see that one up there a bit
 

Richie4540

Full time elf
Joined
Jul 30, 2015
Messages
110
Location
Brisbane
Matrix seems to have gone bad now, got home tonight and no messages are being displayed, so start checking and the beagle bone has dropped its programming and changed from static ip back to dhcp, of course I dont have the back up settings here at the house its at the office where I built it thats my first mistake.

So I am trying to reprogramm FPP on the BB and have got as far as being able to test the panel ( which works and shows the correct colours in test mode) but I cant get the messaging app to show up on the matrix, the messages are showing up in the vixen preview window but no output on the matrix.

Do i have to re patch channels in vixen?
I also have the FPP in bridge mode - which is what I thought I had to do last time but nothing shows up in the status page where it says bytes transferred, any ideas what I am missing would be helpful please???

Richie
 

Richie4540

Full time elf
Joined
Jul 30, 2015
Messages
110
Location
Brisbane
ok, so i checked a few more settings and has to load 37 universes ( i have a 2 x 6 matrix) into the E131 page in FPP and set the unicast address - but I have not enabled the E1.31/artnet output selector, just loaded in the universes.

And now its working again - Yey.
 

ChristmasInKaralee

Senior elf
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
618
Location
Karalee
ok, so i checked a few more settings and has to load 37 universes ( i have a 2 x 6 matrix) into the E131 page in FPP and set the unicast address - but I have not enabled the E1.31/artnet output selector, just loaded in the universes.

And now its working again - Yey.
Sorry to hear, looks like you are all good now though. There really isn't much to configure in the BB but I always still do a backup.
 

Richie4540

Full time elf
Joined
Jul 30, 2015
Messages
110
Location
Brisbane
Got home again tonight, and the FPP has again reset its Ip address to 192.168.1.119 which I tracked down with Fing, so open the interface and the network settings page is still showing it's set to static 192.168.1.141. Any ideas why it would be doing this?

All other settings were there, so I just reset it to static 141 and the sign is going again.

Richie
 

ChristmasInKaralee

Senior elf
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
618
Location
Karalee
Got home again tonight, and the FPP has again reset its Ip address to 192.168.1.119 which I tracked down with Fing, so open the interface and the network settings page is still showing it's set to static 192.168.1.141. Any ideas why it would be doing this?

All other settings were there, so I just reset it to static 141 and the sign is going again.

Richie
I really don't have any idea. This is the first year in using FPP and I haven't had any issues with it. Mine is also setup as static and I shut it down each night after the show. Maybe get into the FPP forums as it won't have anything to do with the app. You could try multicast.
 

Richie4540

Full time elf
Joined
Jul 30, 2015
Messages
110
Location
Brisbane
Thanks Geoff, I need to stay unicast as I have been lazy and run out of time to get a 2nd dedicated network set up, so I have it running on the main house network, but don't want to flood the network more.
 

ChristmasInKaralee

Senior elf
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
618
Location
Karalee
Another update.

Will now check the Whitelist after it finds a word in the blacklist and if in whitelist then will display.

What it was doing is for example finding a bad word like ass in "Merry Christmas Steve" (as S) and rejecting the message, now once it finds a bad word it will check all words to see if they are in the Whitelist. In this case "Merry Christmas Steve" words are in the whitelist and therefor will be displayed.

Vixen_Messaging.exe
Resources.dll
 

ChristmasInKaralee

Senior elf
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
618
Location
Karalee
Last update for this year.

Added option in Text settings to convert all incoming multi line messages to single line of text. Useful for matrix's that can only display one line of text high unless you reduce the font size. For example 1 x P10 Panel high. So if enabled and a user send a multiline text, the app will remove the line returns so it displays as one line of text.

Vixen_Messaging.exe
Resources.dll
 

Richie4540

Full time elf
Joined
Jul 30, 2015
Messages
110
Location
Brisbane
Geoff, thanks I updated tonight and of course while doing that got a message with people standing out front, and none for the rest of the night, it seems sms a light board on a house is a bit of a struggle for the good people of Coorparoo, maybe its takes a couple of years to catch on.
 

ChristmasInKaralee

Senior elf
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
618
Location
Karalee
Geoff, thanks I updated tonight and of course while doing that got a message with people standing out front, and none for the rest of the night, it seems sms a light board on a house is a bit of a struggle for the good people of Coorparoo, maybe its takes a couple of years to catch on.
Mate, same here. I think Steve has the same issue. You need to stand out the front and tell people what they can do and it's like a light switch and they say "oh is that what it is".

I only get around 20 a night but once people know they seem to get excited about it.

Same with the "Tune your Radio to 97.5 FM", most people just don't understand it, I have two permanent Tune to signs and it also comes over the major matrix, yet people still don't see them or understand what to do.
 

nato595

Let's do this!
Joined
Feb 20, 2013
Messages
126
Location
Reno, Nevada
Hello all!
I am aware of the blacklist & whitelist, but I'm wondering if there is a way for the app to send me the message first, preferably to my cell phone, then I can personally reply back to approve or deny the requested text. Even with the blacklist of all the bad words, I definitely foresee people abusing the system and sending dumb stuff, though it may not be actual cuss words.
 

ChristmasInKaralee

Senior elf
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
618
Location
Karalee
Hello all!
I am aware of the blacklist & whitelist, but I'm wondering if there is a way for the app to send me the message first, preferably to my cell phone, then I can personally reply back to approve or deny the requested text. Even with the blacklist of all the bad words, I definitely foresee people abusing the system and sending dumb stuff, though it may not be actual cuss words.
Currently the app can not do what you are asking. The app can be changed to include this feature however I'm not sure anyone would really use it. Do you really want to get 10, 20 or even 100 messages sent to your phone every night. It would also cost you more money as the message would have to be received by the app then forwarded to your phone then you reply with approved or deny. Each message going through the Twilio account. I use it every night and I haven't had any bad words get through. The audience only get one chance and if they send something bad that's detected it will not be display and a second attempt will ban the number. If they are really creative and something gets through then it's the kids I'm worried about and they probably wouldn't even understand what was displayed and then you can add the words to the blacklist.

I created the app so it would be full automatic.
 
Top