Some of My LED's Stay Turned On Even When Channel Is Off

Discussion in 'Lights - Store Bought and Home Made' started by djohnson1810, Dec 2, 2012.

  1. djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to use LED's for the first time this year. I purchased LED icicle lights for the roof. I have about 12 of them across the roof line but only 3 of them plugged in together. My problem is that some of the strands will stay on even when the song is over or the channel is turned off... even when the computer is turned off and no show is running. I have tried attaching one incandescent bulb to the end with no effect.[/size]Any ideas?
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Are we talking about DC strings or AC strings? If AC, are they 110V or 240V or ???
     
  3. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Welcome to ACL.

    What sort of board are you using. The incand bulb is traditionally used when used on AC boards like LOR ones. It is possible that you have a shorted mosfet (for DC boards) or triac (for AC boards). the commonest cause for both of these is generally an overload or wires that have been shorted.
     
  4. ryanschristmaslights

    ryanschristmaslights Senior Elf Administrator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Find Me On:
    Also, depending on the following will change how to fix it. Do the lights which are staying on turn on as soon as you power up your controller? Or do they stay off until you turn them on in the sequence but then not turn back off?

    The former will likely be a mosfet/triac issue (depending on DC/AC board) but the latter will be the result of using LEDs with the AC board, and more power is needed to get it to flick off. (E.g. one of those 1 metre rope light shapes)
     
  5. OP
    OP
    djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0

    They usually stay off until I use them in a sequence, then "some" strands stay on while others turn off. The LED'S are AC and I am using an AC LOR (CTB16PC). It is 110 v.


    If I understand your fix correctly, you are saying that I need more incandescent bulbs at the end? I just have one attached currently.
     
  6. ryanschristmaslights

    ryanschristmaslights Senior Elf Administrator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Find Me On:
    OK, it sounds like you're pulling too little power for the triac to operate correctly. As the LOR AC boards were built originally for the US 110v market, the "sticky channels" issue is unique to places like Australia and the UK that have 24v lights running through plugpack adapters. You may find that the longer your AC boards are powered up the higher chance you get a sticky channel. I power mine off each night and flick on within 30 minutes of the light display starting.

    If you have an old set of incandescents that you don't use out in the display or a small length of rope light, plug this into the sticky channel via a powerboard and the issue should go away. I use the $5 1 metre Go-Lo/Crazy Clarks/Sams Warehouse indoor motifs, undercover. Though as I don't have much AC left now that means I have less need to boost the power usage with dummy loads :) .
     
  7. OP
    OP
    djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0

    What is a powerboard?


    Can I just plug more incandescents in at the end or beginning of my run?


    Maybe if I make my run of LEd's longer. Currently I have SPT2 wire running along my soffit line. Every 3 strands of LED's lights I attached a female plug inline (of the SPT wire) and attach the next 3 strings of LED lights. Maybe if I make my run of LED lights longer (5 strands) there will be enough power pull to turn off the lights?
     
  8. ryanschristmaslights

    ryanschristmaslights Senior Elf Administrator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Find Me On:
    Oops, sorry I assumed you were posting from Australia. Powerboard over here is what you guys call Powerbricks/Powerstrips. You might be able to add lights in-line but I am not at all experienced in the US lights so someone else may be able to step in and help :) . I haven't heard of the sticky channel issue happening in the US until now.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay. I think I have the concept. I am not drawing enough power. I need to increase it somewhat by making my strands longer or adding something to the beginning/end of the strands to draw more power.


    Thanks for the new term! I know them as power strips.


    I am from sunny Florida. Close to where the space shuttles used to launch! Believe it or not, our city name is Melbourne.
     
  10. ryanschristmaslights

    ryanschristmaslights Senior Elf Administrator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Find Me On:
    Yes, that is basically it. The minimum power consumption for the triacs used on the CTB16PC to run without becoming sticky is something like 40mA, possibly 60mA.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just an update. I tried everything we discussed without success. I ended up moving the channel to another open channel and everything is now working fine. I guess the triac is bad?
     
  12. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Sounds like it. Check out this wiki page for details on how to test your board.
     

Share This Page