1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

superstar to xlights sequences for use

Discussion in 'xLights (Nutcracker)' started by ChrisB, Jul 21, 2014.

  1. ChrisB

    ChrisB New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wondering if there is a way to take an already built super star sequence and convert it into xlights to be used by an e1.31 system (j1sys p12r). Thanks Chris
     
  2. dougd

    dougd Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Tennessee
    The super star sequence would have to be converted to an .lms file and then it could be converted in xlights. If you dont have superstar I can do the conversion for you.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ChrisB

    ChrisB New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doug, thanks for the reply. I do have superstar. To be quite honest what I am looking to do is purchase a few pre made sequences from someone over at the lor forum and use them this year. But it was strictly made using superstar. I do not have ccr's. I have 2811's and j1 sys p12r. Can you explain/teach me how to do this conversion. Thanks Chris
     
  4. dougd

    dougd Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Tennessee
    I have purchased quite a few superstar sequences. I also do not use any CCR's. Are you planiing on running your show with S3 or xlights?


    If you can pop over into chat at some point and I can show you my process.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    ChrisB

    ChrisB New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Doug D! I will be using S3 for sequencing/shows. Chris
     
  6. dougd

    dougd Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Tennessee
    If using S3 it will be quite easy to use bought sequences. I have a channel config that strips out all the CCR channels and makes it easy to use in sequences. I use 2811 strips for my super star tree also.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    ChrisB

    ChrisB New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    So care to share your stripper? ha ha Thanks Chris
     
  8. dougd

    dougd Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Tennessee
    Sure, I will PM you my email.
     
  9. Ɠαяєтн

    Ɠαяєтн Mae gen i C.L.A.P ei heintus iawn

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Landsdale, Perth, Western Australia
    Hi Doug,


    I too would be interested in the stripping tool.


    Thanks,
    Gareth
     
  10. wmmccallum

    wmmccallum New Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Doug

    Yet another user trying to convert a purchased .sup file (galloping_Jinglebells) for use with xlights. I have S3 but not the add-on for superstar.

    I would appreciate your stripper.

    Bill
     
  11. gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    I am pretty sure that you can import a super star sequence into xlights - as with xl4 , there are a number of continuing enhancements to importing all sorts of data and in fact the default when you go to import / convert is superstar !

    I have used it extensively to import LSP and some LMS sequences , but I know that others are doing superstar .

    Having said that - I don't know anything about superstar .
     
  12. nzlongfellow

    nzlongfellow Dennis from NZ

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lepperton, Taranaki
    Find Me On:
    Use the Import tab in xL4 and you can import SS directly --- no strippers required (as disappointing as that may be for some ;) )
    Just make sure you Open a new sequence with the music track and Add the models you want to assign SS to like your Mega tree.
     
  13. uncledan

    uncledan New Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Buellton California
    I import the superstar file into Xlights yet the results are not matching up with what it should look like and did look like last year with LOR. Missing a lot. I gotta get these SUP files transferred to Xlights... Somebody please help!
     
  14. smeighan

    smeighan Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    4217 Greenfinch Dr CO 80126
    I gave tried maybe 20 superstar sup files, all have looked fine.if we are missing something u can always open it in superstar and then save as a lms file. U then import the lms as a data layer
     
  15. Gilrock

    Gilrock Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Find Me On:
    What type of model is the SUP file built for? They work well on the 12x50 trees I use. He has some new sequences that are modeled as double-wide and those won't import correctly and I'm not going to try to handle them. You gotta be a little more specific about what is missing.
     

Share This Page