1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Using Ray 27's for the first time

Discussion in 'DMX, E1.31 & Networking' started by Porsche, Apr 27, 2013.

  1. Porsche

    Porsche Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Piara Waters
    I unpacked my Ray27's last night to test them all. I havent used these controllers before.
    I hooked them up Via E1.31 and ran Da E1.31 test pattern to make sure they worked.
    I had a Ray hooked up to my D4 port 1 on universe 6. When I ran Da E1.31 on universe 6 I couldnt test the lights. The Red light on the Ray board was on solid (not flashing), but when I changed the Da1.31 to another universe the red light on the Ray would flash and automatically run a test pattern. So Im assuming they have a test pattern built in to the Rays.
    Is there anything specific I should have done when I first got these boards, like install drivers etc.
    When the Red LED on the board is on solid or flashing what does that mean. Why couldnt I get Da1.31 to talk with the boards?
    I even tried setting DIP switches to like channel 50 and then running Da1.31 to start at channel 50. but nothing.
    What have I missed?
    Cheers
    Phil
     
  2. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    The boards are fairly simple to use but aren't really documented fully anywhere. There is a 10 way dipswitch which sets the dmx start address and also the test "function". Test mode will cycle through all the leds when the dipswitch is switched to the ON position. If that works the things are wired right to the outputs.
    You have said that you are using da_e131 so I will presume that you are going through a D2, DR4, D4 or 1 of the DIY ethernet to DMX devices. You will need to configure the device to enable outputs etc.
    If you are using a usb dongle in between the pc and 27ch board then it it da_dmx that you will need to use. operation is pretty much the same. Idle repeat should be enabled so that it sends out packets constantly rather than every time there is a change and the "open port" radio button needs to be pressed.
    If you haven't got a dongle or e1.31 to dmx board in between then there is a problem.
     
  3. ԆцряєсϮ

    ԆцряєсϮ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Botanic Ridge
    Find Me On:
    Dipswitch number 10 sets the test mode :)
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Porsche

    Porsche Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Piara Waters
    I am running through a D4.
    The ray boards were running their own test patterns when I had dip switches all on.
    When the LED is solid Red (not flashing) does that mean we are talking??
     
  5. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    All switches on does the same as just having the test switch on. Turn them all off and just the "1" switch on to set the start address to 1. When the start address is valid, which it should be with just the "1" switch on, when the test switch is off and when dmx packets are being received the dmx/power led will blink away merrily.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Porsche

    Porsche Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Piara Waters
    I just tried it. Got them working. Thanks Alan.
    I had the DIP switches all on. So I changed them as you said.
     

Share This Page