Want to remove flasher unit - help needed

Discussion in 'Lights - Store Bought and Home Made' started by EssG, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. EssG

    EssG New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I have my LED "Fairy Lights" up all year in my back garden as garden lighting - I bought a new set of 250 white LED sting light from Aldi which has a green flasher unit wired inline near the transformer end.

    Some how this has filled up with water and last night stopped working...I just opened it and all the components are corroded, so I would like to remove the unit from the circuit as I'm not a great fan of flashing lights at best of times.

    My problem is that there are 2 wires coming into the flasher unit from the transformer and 3 going out to the string, so how do I join these to get power directly from the transformer to the string with out the flasher unit.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated

    Cheers
    Ess
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Ess, how you bypass the controller will depend on what type of light set it it.

    Are these lights 240V direct connection or do they have a transformer?
     
  3. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Doh - missed the mention of transformer!

    You can bypass the multifunction controllers, but you will need to use 4 diodes (or a diode bridge) to perform the rectification that was occurring in the MFC.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    EssG

    EssG New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK please can you explain more David. I thought it was just going to be joining wires :-[ -

    Flasher unit info is 24V input 50 Hrz output 0.83A

    Cheers
    Ess
     
  5. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Doing up a diagram for you now...
     
  6. OP
    OP
    EssG

    EssG New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks ..Much appreciated
     
  7. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
  8. OP
    OP
    EssG

    EssG New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks David - Now where do I get a diode Bridge ?

    Cheers
    Ess
     
  9. Robbo

    Robbo Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyabb-Victoria
    he mentioned the links in the wiki,
     
  10. OP
    OP
    EssG

    EssG New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just saw that and was about to do a DUH for me :D
     
  11. OP
    OP
    EssG

    EssG New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    David - My MFC does not have the common wire marked in any way but the one closest to the input wires is the center wire in the 3 strand. Would that be it?

    Thanks again for your help

    Cheers
     
  12. OP
    OP
    EssG

    EssG New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. XDU

    XDU Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Jaycar are in Caboolture and will have a better range
     
  14. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Dick smith don't seem to sell diode bridges any more. As X said, Jaycar will have them.
     
  15. Eric outback NT

    Eric outback NT Living the fast life

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tennant Creek N.T.
    You will need 4 and make the rectifier yourself if you get the single diode from dick smith the package in the wiki is the complete unit of 4 and I think would be better for you as XDU said from Caboolture Jaycar
     

Share This Page