can i modify a store bought 8 function controller to control multiple channels?

Discussion in 'Lights - Store Bought and Home Made' started by olemiss1, Nov 16, 2012.

  1. olemiss1

    olemiss1 New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys is this possible to do?? I have seen several companies that sell them looks like same control box that store bought have with 4 extra female plugs added to it?
     
  2. Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,624
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
  3. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Not quite sure what you mean. Can you outline exactly what you'd like to do?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    olemiss1

    olemiss1 New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I take a store bought lite set with multifunction controller ie like chasing dimming in sequence and use that box to control say 4 strands instead of one?? Wire it to control individual channels? Does that make sense??
     
  5. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Short answer:

    Maybe.

    Long answer:

    It will depend on the MF controller. Some (like the Big W units) are designed to handle the load of a few (optional) extension strings and are supplied with a plug pack that's rated for (say) 600 LEDs. Others are supplied with plug packs and controllers that are only just enough for the included string.

    You don't have a location set in you profile (hint hint), so it's not clear if you're in Australia and are talking about low voltage strings or 110V/240V types.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    olemiss1

    olemiss1 New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    David I live in U.S. So I need to crack open the controller what do I need to be looking for exactly? I can post a pic when I open it up if that helps. Also the lights are the glass style not leds
     
  7. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Not sure what your options are in that case. You *may* be able to parallel the output wires of the MF controller off to another string (cut from another set). Whether the wiring and MF controller can take the extra load is another matter.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    olemiss1

    olemiss1 New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trail and error I take it?? Lol how do those simple controllers work and control the lights?? Will it be just 2 lead wires that feed the lights?
     
  9. OP
    OP
    olemiss1

    olemiss1 New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Sorry, I'm not really able to help further with this as we don't use mains voltage controllers over here.
     

Share This Page