DC48 Controller (DMX - DC)

Discussion in 'The Development Lab' started by David_AVD, Apr 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    This controller is now available. Further info to be found here



    A while ago, Phil and I talked about the T48 and what improvements / changes he could implement in the new version. Since he is still MIA and people are wanting to get their hands on a T48, I thought I'd step in with my own.

    After a bit of to and fro in ACL chat, I settled on:

    • Dual DC input (12V - 30V) (plug-in connector)
    • 2x 20A blade fuses (20A overall max per 24 channels)
    • 48 DC outputs (5A max per channel or 10A max per 3 channels)
    • Screw terminals arranged as V+, Ch, Ch, Ch (suits RGB)
    • True isolated DMX input (2x RJ45 sockets)
    • Remaining side will continue working if other side's fuse blows
    • PCB fits in a Jaycar ABS enclosure with 4x M3 machine screws
    • PCB size is 188mm x 122mm
    • Supplied fully built and tested
    • Upgradeable firmware (via ICSP header)
    Price is looking to be approx $180 including GST, but I won't know for sure until I build one. Postage would be approx $15 to most of Oz, and the matching ABS case is about $25.

    I have orders for a few so far, so let me know if you are interested.
     
  2. kel

    kel Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tenterfield, NSW/Qld border
    sounds good, David :D
     
  3. Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    I'm in for 4 to start things off
     
  4. OP
    OP
    David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    The PCB design is fully done and I'll be putting in a prototype run next week. This means I should have a working unit in 2-3 weeks time.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. XDU

    XDU Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I am interested in 4 DA
     
  6. tuppetsdad

    tuppetsdad Funding & Tech Support

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Nice one David. Likely we will need some later in the year. Look great for running RGB strips and lights. ;)
     
  7. christmas-light

    christmas-light Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    That PCB is looking great ! ;)
     
  8. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    I'll be up for at least one David

    Cheers

    Kane
     
  9. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Looking great David, thanks for the effort your putting into this

    Just a suggestion, take or leave it

    Would it be possible to increase the working range from 5vdc to 35vdc. The reason for this is due to RGB 3 channel strings are rated at 5vdc and some of the Kmart, Big W strings are rated up to 35vdc, by doing this you increase the range of lights the controller can work with

    Only a suggestion :)
     
  10. OP
    OP
    David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    That's a good idea. The upper limit can be 36V with no real changes.

    For 5V operation, I'd need to add a jumper. I've been hesitant to do this as powering the board from more than 5V with the jumper in the wrong position would be very bad. I could possibly add protection for this though.

    If 5V operation is deemed truly useful, I will have a look. Comments from others please?
     
  11. j1sys

    j1sys There are no rules, and those are the rules. Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville TN USA
    i know what you mean about jumpers. the dc-dc converter i use won't work at 5v to 5v. i wish it would. so the pixad8 has to have a jumper set to enable/disable the converter or disconnect entirely from the power bus (and then you have to add 5vdc to the m32mx and it will supply the power.

    jumpers are good and bad. let the buyer beware imho. they have to be careful. just think if they attached 110vac or 240vac to one of the power inputs!!

    -Ed
     
  12. OP
    OP
    David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    I have added jumpers to the board to allow for 12V-36V or 5V operation. :)

    Using a power source higher than 5.5V when 5V mode is selected may result in board damage.
     
  13. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Excellent addition David, Thanks
     
  14. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Just wondering if you've got 1 up, running and tested yet?
    If these work nice I might have to get a few of these rather than some more LOR boards.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Prototype is nearly completed:

    [​IMG]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page