1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

E1.31 stops after 2 Days

Discussion in 'Computers, Cabling & Other Miscellaneous Hardware' started by ShayneT, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. ShayneT

    ShayneT New Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I made the leap into E1.31 this year. I am using an older laptop running XP. I am running 3 2811 5m Ray Wu strips using LOR 3.8. I ran the same basic setup for Halloween minus the DMX King Micro USB. After about 23 hours the Joshua P12 stops receiving data. If I unplug and replug the cat-45 the amber activity light starts flashing again. But sometimes if I reboot the laptop the P12 server is accessible without any cable reseat. For Halloween I ran the cable through the window and since then I ran cable through the wall and installed a jack outside.
    Could it be a computer thing? A cable? The new jack? I may try to go through the window just for laughs? I am confused why it takes almost two days to get stuck.
     
  2. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,491
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Where is the controller located and how low have the ambient temps been getting your way
     
  3. lithgowlights

    lithgowlights Senior Elf

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Lithgow, NSW
    Find Me On:
    Don't think I have ever had a J1Sys item on that long here. Mine get turned off after the show, and on only 30 mins before show time starts, so they are on maybe 4 to 5 hrs max a day
     
  4. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    My DR4's stay on all the time for the DMX controlled relay, but the PIXAD8's are switched on/off for each show.

    I do have a similar product to the PIXAD8 (from J1SYS) and they run 24x7 out in the field. I've not had any reports of lock-ups.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    ShayneT

    ShayneT New Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    The controller is in a CG-1500 enclosure and temps are 65-80F. The power supply is in the same enclosure and it seems to run no warmer than ambient.
     
  6. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Just out of curiosity does the comm listener window show anything weird happening with the E1.31 output when it's ran for the requisite 23hrs?
     
  7. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    my P2 has been on for the last 2 weeks and have had no issue
     
  8. OP
    OP
    ShayneT

    ShayneT New Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I don't think the comm listener showed anything weird. Next time, if it happens again, I will look at the comm closer. The green light on the P12 jack stays on, just the amber activity one goes out. If I disconnect the cable at the laptop windows shows no active network connection. Could something be weird with the cable or maybe the new jack introduce an intermittent issue?
     
  9. OP
    OP
    ShayneT

    ShayneT New Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I may jinx myself but almost 5 days with no lockup. I have made a few changes mainly the computer is set reboot overnight and I bypassed the new jack. While I did upgrade to 3.9 I am wondering if it is the illusive memory leak or now I have read some antivirus interfere - Avast is running.
    Since everything is running I am reluctant to isolate it until after Christmas.
    Any thoughts anyone may have is appreciated.
     
  10. JonB256

    JonB256 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Granbury, Texas
    Find Me On:
    I have a DR4 that has done that (locked up) twice. Both times, it was from Overruns. Both times, it was because I had 2 computers output conflicting E1.31 multicast data.


    I'm more careful now and the DR4 has run, without fault, for 4 weeks.


    I don't have a P12R to check, but my DR4's Status Screen clearly showed my overruns.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    ShayneT

    ShayneT New Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    What part of the status screen would show it? Also the P12 is the only network device running, the others run via USB DMX and USB LOR adapter.
     

Share This Page