1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Network switch, which is right for me?

Discussion in 'Computers, Cabling & Other Miscellaneous Hardware' started by jimcllc, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. jimcllc

    jimcllc Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Find Me On:
  2. Kaden

    Kaden Pixels! I need more pixels!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Short answer is any 100Mbps switch or better. I use a crappy 5 port 10/100 dlink switch for 2x p2s and 1x d2
     
  3. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    That will do the trick. As Kaden has said any network switch should do the job
     
  4. anon

    anon Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ditto the above.


    In the philosophy of the best device is a free device, I just used an old modem/router/switch my old internet provider supplied that was otherwise collecting dust.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    jimcllc

    jimcllc Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Find Me On:
    Where's the easy button? That was easy, thanks
     
  6. JonB256

    JonB256 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Granbury, Texas
    Find Me On:
    While there is little to no demand for them, a 100mbit or Gbit Hub would be event better for Multicasting.


    I'm using an Netgear 8 port Gbit switch without problems. I inserted it between my show computer and the home network and it keeps the traffic somewhat isolated from the wireless router.
     
  7. Kaden

    Kaden Pixels! I need more pixels!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I have never seen a 100mbps hub, though I have heard they existed and I have never heard about 1gbps hub.

    Unless the gig switch is managed and configured to drop multicast traffic (or routed between the interfaces) on the uplink port, I don't think adding a switch would help curb the traffic the sACN blasts out.

    Best practice for our hobby is a separate "show" network, as it appears you are already planning.
     
  8. BradsXmasLights

    BradsXmasLights WiFi Interactive

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Find Me On:
    Kadan is right, unless you've got an expensive managed switch that supports IGMP snooping it's not going to make any difference. I wouldn't even bother with a seperate show network for home.

    The only problem I see is if you have an ultra-crappy network device on your LAn - like a really old network printer - which can't handle the broadcasts (multicast) - that device may have trouble communicating. But unlikly these days.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    jimcllc

    jimcllc Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Find Me On:
    The PC I am using to run my show Is a 5 year old Compaq Presario That has nothing on it except lor and is not hooked up to the internet or anything. So I am NOT concerned with any traffic or noise or anything on my home network Because it is not even put up to it.
     
  10. nato595

    nato595 Let's do this!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reno, Nevada
    Find Me On:
    Cisco and dLink both have 5-port models in stock at Wal-Mart stores for $25(US) each. They are all one-in-the-same.
     
  11. burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone willing to drive to northern metro Victoria can have any of the 3com 48 port (4300 and 4400 series) switches I have here for free. They are only 100mb though.
     
  12. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    100mbit is as good as anyone is going to need anyway, so a great offer for anyone who can get their hands on these

    Thanks for offering these up
     
  13. pipersmall

    pipersmall Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Find Me On:
    Are you coming to the Melbourne mini?
     
  14. burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    I won't be able to make it this year :(
    I'm in Thomastown/Lalor/Epping area.
     
  15. pipersmall

    pipersmall Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Find Me On:

Share This Page