1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

p12s now able to do 24 universes!!!

Discussion in 'EthConGateway by Joshua 1 Systems' started by Benslights, May 6, 2015.

  1. bhamze

    bhamze New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    My jumpers (top board) are correct, I successfully ran show last year. I was curious about the jumpers on bottom board, currently none are installed. My controllers are configured differential and all channels communicate with PPR-B's. My issue is with v3_4B, my controllers (2) have no response with that firmware. They work fine with v3_4 and dual universe seems to be working correctly. I haven't tested pixel count but plan to this weekend. The documentation states that although v3_4 will support dual universe you will not achieve maximum channel output using WS2811 pixels. Im very curious why my controllers wont respond with v3_4B.
     
  2. Robert

    Robert Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I did ask ed about the jumpers on the bottom board. He said, the jumpers on the bottom board were for his purposes, except for the jumpers for the dmx output.

    Which I'm still not sure, what the jumpers do, or where they go for the dmx outputs.
     
  3. Baf05

    Baf05 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canberra
    I am still a bit unsure how to go about this, chooing the right firm were and stuff. How do I know what chip I have?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Benslights

    Benslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,590
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    hi baf if you log into your p12s and go to the stats screen it will tell you the number of the chip there. im flat chat this weekend but next weekend I should have time to do a how to video. you will also need to download the latest j1ubl2 progrom. 1.4 to do the update

    http://clap-supplies.com/info-centre/
     
  5. Bill Ellick

    Bill Ellick Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NY
  6. richardd

    richardd Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Geraldton
    Hi

    I just upgraded my P12S's to 3_4b and it did not turn on the lights so I backed it down to 3_4 and that version worked. Will 3_4 do two universes of WS2811 with 510 channels (2 strands of 85 pixels) each?

    Cheers
    Richard
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Benslights

    Benslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,590
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    it will for 2801 but not 2 universes for 2811 yet I hope to have some firmware update from ed soon
     
  8. bassnbuck

    bassnbuck New Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    concord,nh
    just curious if you can do the 2 universes per output on the p12s for 2811 yet?
     
  9. chicken

    chicken Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area, CA
    Bump .. Anyone know if they are going to support two universes per channel for 2811 soon? We really need it this year. Thanks
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Benslights

    Benslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,590
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    so far not a complete 2 universes for 2811 but I will double check with Ed and find out if he has a new firmware coming out
     
  11. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    352
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Isn't that specified in the manual?

     
  12. OP
    OP
    Benslights

    Benslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,590
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    yes it is but a lot seem to miss it for some reason. as with the firmware update there is a 1 page manual in the folder :D
     
  13. dougd

    dougd Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Tennessee
    So does that mean it can do 200 2811 pixels per output?
     
  14. Robert

    Robert Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I had 270 ws2811 pixels on one output.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Benslights

    Benslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,590
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    was that with 3.4 or 3.4B??
     

Share This Page