Separate Power Outlets LOR 240v

Discussion in 'LOR 240V AC' started by BoonDogs, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    I'm planning on getting the 16 channel LOR controller where you add your own wires and all
    http://store.lightorama.com/ctcotrbo1.html


    I want to wire them up so they go to a board with power outlets. Any ideas on where I can find 'double' or four gang outlets where the active is switched separately? Otherwise I have to use big single power outlets and they're just too big?


    Is anybody selling any of these boards or the already build 16 channel ones for reasonable prices?


    Cheers
     
  2. bpj1980

    bpj1980 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamlyn Terrace
    Ok so I am thinking 2 different things here, may need clarifying a little do you mean:

    A)[​IMG][​IMG] I do like this one!
    http://www.officeworks.com.au/shop/officeworks/p/jackson-6-outlet-switched-powerboard-surge-protection-black-japt1816
    http://www.officeworks.com.au/shop/officeworks/p/jackson-4-way-switch-usb-powerboard-japt1814us

    or

    B)[​IMG]
    http://www.electrotraders.com.au/logix-quad-4-way-power-point-gpo-outlet

    Just a start but plenty of different types around and I am sure you will find different prices,
     
  3. OP
    OP
    BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    I need something where each individual outlet has its own wires going into the back
     
  4. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    I don't think you'll find what you're after. LOR boxes usually have a bunch of inline sockets on tails for the outlets.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:

    I've seen Clyde from Leechburg lights do it with his LOR boxes, I know they exist, its just finding where they are
     
  6. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    He is possibly using 1 power board per output. This allows the use of cheap power boards rather than extension leads on the outputs and multiple lights can be plugged into it. I don't think that you will actually find what you are looking for as there isn't any mains cable that provides more than 4 conductors in it and that doesn't get fitted off to a standard 3 pin plug. If you really wanted to you could mod up the switched style power board but you are still left with the problem of getting mains cable of more than 3 (or 4) cores from the power board into the LOR enclosure.
    If you have a look at Ryans photo gallery at http://ryanschristmaslights.com/2009-photo-gallery/ in the setup photos section you can see an example of power boards used instead of extension lead tails.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    Hmm that seems a little messy...


    We have different options for mains cable here that uses four cores (2-2.5mm)
    I'll continue to investigate, I've seen them out there, I just don't remember where
     
  8. OP
    OP
    BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    I'll just use these if I can't find what I'm after
     

    Attached Files:

  9. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    This type of thing is usually custom made and for the extra cost is it actually worth going down that path unless you are trying to run the controller and the outlets in 2 separate locations.
    You would need to use an industrial multicore cable which are not cheap and then make up a distribution board to suit. You may get lucky and find something that was custom made for the LOR boards, but either way I doubt this solution will be cheap compared to running the tails and connecting power boards to that.

    In my opinion 240v Christmas lights can get very dangerous if you don't know what you are doing and its better to remove transformers and controllers from the lighting and run them with a safer low voltage DC option and use something like the AHH mega boards unless you use a lot of 240v rope light and strings that don't have a power pack in which case is a risk in itself having all that cheap 240v lighting outdoors in a Christmas display with kids wanting to touch everything especially if you have got a lot of the cheap EBay or aliexpress mains voltage lighting.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    I found the name of them today. They're called 15/20 amp duplex receptacles in the US, I am yet to find an AU version. They support the ability to share a common neutral + earth and have separate line inputs
     

    Attached Files:

  11. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Its not a good thing in the electrical world to share the neutral and have a separate line feed as this can be dangerous because if you isolate one circuit and there is power going through the other circuit then the neutral for that isolated circuit is still alive and can cause electrocution due to being fed from the still active circuit and causing a crossed over circuit
    Be careful with what you do when dealing with 240volts because you do need to be a licensed electrician to work on this and if you cause a fire or electrocution from doing your own work then you will be in serious trouble.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    These would be purely for the 240vac controllers, if I wanted to isolate, it's as simple as unplugging the controller
     
  13. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    There are some dual gang power points that can allow you to do the same thing you are wanting to do by just removing the bridging wire between the 2 outlets
     
  14. OP
    OP
    BoonDogs

    BoonDogs I am self diagnosed with CLAP

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Find Me On:
    I've never seen these before, do you know where I could find them?
     
  15. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Its been a while since ive done any installation work, but know they did exists, I cant remember which brand they were. Maybe try your local electrical wholesaler
     

Share This Page