1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Will doubling my wires make the gauge bigger?

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by jimcllc, Dec 26, 2014.

  1. jimcllc

    jimcllc Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Find Me On:
    If I take 2 sections of 16ga wire, Lay them side by side(not end to end) and wire the ends together will I then be making a gauge thicker to minimize voltage drop for power injection?
     
  2. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes but don't do it for any data wires. Doubling the wires will halve the voltage drop.
     
  3. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Yes it definitely will. You need to make sure you are supplying both 0V and 5V (or 12V) power injection and not just the "power" wire. I added a bit of info to the latest ACL 101 on selecting cable sizes and calculating what sizes and voltage drops etc.
     
  4. multicast

    multicast Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes, but it will also potentially create other issues, you might get a lot of Common Mode noise. Your milage will vary, if you have to use two bits of wire, side by side.. Join them in several places along the line. not just at the ends.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    jimcllc

    jimcllc Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Find Me On:
    I'm thinking of doing this from the P12S to my pixel strand of 25 5v Ws2811 mini tree to mini tree to mini tree for a total of 6 trees 150 pixels. I'll inject power after 50, 100, and at the end.
    Not exactly sure of distance yet but am guessing 10-15 feet but thinking doubling the wire might help boost the power. I'll be using orange outdoor extension cords. They are all as you buy them, will that help shield the noise and other problems?
     
  6. BradsXmasLights

    BradsXmasLights WiFi Interactive

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Find Me On:
    I've done this heaps throughout my display as I got a big roll of multicore cable cheap. Also allows reconfiguration back to separate cores down the track if required.


    No problems so far!
     
  7. mararunr

    mararunr Here to learn! (and share)

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    3505 NW Edgewood Ave, Bentonville Arkansas, USA
    Find Me On:
    So the joining at multiple points is what I must have been missing in my display this year. I just ran the whole length and only joined at each end. Did get some unexpected results. What would be the longest you would recommend going before joining together and then moving on?
     
  8. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,501
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    This depends on a few factors including the length of the cable and the guage of the cable, but a general rule is
    50 lights with 5 volts strings
    120 lights with 12v strings
    Inject between each strip using 5v
    Inject at the beginning of the 3rd strip but back inject into the second strip when using 12v
     
  9. firebug

    firebug Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    I think what mararunr is asking is involving the actual injection cables and not the strip. I too ran 6 core cable for the injection (using 3 and 3 twisted together), one of them being 14m long. Should I/we twist the wires together again at certain intervals along the wire or will each end be enough? I realise gauge and length are contributing factors but maybe just as a general rule? Or doesn't it make any difference??
     
  10. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,501
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    It makes absolutly no difference because its the guage of the cable that is important, by adding additional cores you are then reducing the resistance of the overall length and increasing the current capacity of the cable run, so twisting the cores together at intervals will have no effect

    Ohms law is very important in this hobby, so we can see how the guage and length of a cable (resistance) and the current (amps) flowing down that cable play a critical role in determining voltage drop

    Volts = current x resistance

    So as you can see this is very important and Ohms law is the general rule because everyone will have different currents and different guages and lengths of cables.

    The less current and less reistance will equal less voltage drop
     
  11. mararunr

    mararunr Here to learn! (and share)

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    3505 NW Edgewood Ave, Bentonville Arkansas, USA
    Find Me On:
    So joining them in several places along the line has no effect? Sorry for dragging this on, just trying to learn.
     
  12. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,501
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Just dont join multiple wires for the data this will cause issues
     
  13. Fing

    Fing Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Muswellbrook
    Find Me On:

    Hi,


    I can't see any benefit to joining them in several places, other than to create work. ;) It may be worth considering moving your power supplies closer and reducing the length of the DC run, and perhaps using multiple power supplies. But i digress, in answer to your original question, yes doubling the wires will double the current carrying capacity. Make sure you double both the +ve and -ve wires.


    Cheers
    Fing
     
  14. multicast

    multicast Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    7

    Noise sir. Noise. You may be fortunate that is not an issue. But you may not be so lucky either. Noise can be induced onto cables, When their are differing signal paths for the current ( different wires ) you will increase the noise that ends up on the cable. As i say in many cases, its not going to be a problem. Until one day it is.
     

Share This Page