2012 BigW 160 bulb LED Lights - How to bypass multi-function

Discussion in 'Lights - Store Bought and Home Made' started by BenGus, Oct 15, 2012.

  1. BenGus

    BenGus New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ormeau, Queensland
    Find Me On:
    Hey all!

    Just wondering if anyone has had any luck bypassing the multifunction controller on this years BigW LED lights. They arent the connectable ones, just the $10 packs (160 bulbs). The ID on the controller is DM-K1.1 and it looks fairly simple but I can't seem to find a diagram on the wiki that matches it.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    I like a challenge! :D

    First thing is to see if the plugpack is AC or DC output. I have my suspicions that's it's DC due to the controller layout.
     
  3. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Provisional mod info is in wiki now.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    BenGus

    BenGus New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ormeau, Queensland
    Find Me On:
    Hey David,

    Thanks for that, I shall go and solder her up now and let you know.

    The plug pack reads as this:

    Input: 230 - 240V ~ 50Hz
    Output: 31V - 8VA
     
  5. OP
    OP
    BenGus

    BenGus New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ormeau, Queensland
    Find Me On:
    Works like a charm, thank-you very much! Just a note for anyone considering purchasing these, there is a slight delay from when the lights are turned on to when they light up (about 1 second). So these really wouldn't be suitable for a lot of animation :(
     
  6. cozbert

    cozbert Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Whyalla SA
    there is no reason you couldnt remove the controller completely and connect it straight upto a DC controller board eg DV24.

    i have done for all of my bigw lights this year. :)
     
  7. OP
    OP
    BenGus

    BenGus New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ormeau, Queensland
    Find Me On:
    Does that remove the delay?
     
  8. cozbert

    cozbert Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Whyalla SA
    yep :) you can also hook up the 2 different strings to different outputs if you have them to create effects with your controller.
     
  9. penguineer

    penguineer Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mount Tamborine, Qld
    It seems pretty quick to me :D

    I've done this with the one set of these lights I have for use on a star-frame on my (small) megatree, with both strings used together.

    Note that this is with a DC controller running 30V though......NOT 240V AC.....

    Cheers!
     
  10. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    WARNING WARNING ! Got your attention?

    I'm now guessing that the plugpack is lightweight and therefore a switch-mode type.

    Using these with a lighting controller is very risky as any dimming could see both the controller output and plugpack go up in smoke.

    I think your best (only) option is to use these strings with a DC controller if you want to animate them.

     
  11. OP
    OP
    BenGus

    BenGus New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ormeau, Queensland
    Find Me On:
    Cheers for that. I'll just chop the ones I want to use for animation :)
     
  12. cozbert

    cozbert Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Whyalla SA
    i am using just the strings with the controllers removed connected to my DC24 with an external 10A 24V power supply not the supplied plug packs :)
     
  13. penguineer

    penguineer Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mount Tamborine, Qld
    [​IMG]

    "Lightweight" doesn't even start to describe it. It's about 1/4 the volume of the standard BigW 24V plugpack and a fraction of the weight......

    Cheers!
     
  14. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Yeah, I saw switch-mode power supplies on some Kmart light sets in 2010 and wondered if it would be an increasing trend.

    This is definitely something to be very wary of. Dimming them (or even switching on/off) with a typical Christmas light AC controller could result in fireworks and bad smells for both the plugpack and/or the controller.
     
  15. Shmav78

    Shmav78 New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to just remove the controller box altogether and not use the diode bridge?
     

Share This Page