1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Beaglebone black ethernet (eth0) not working

Discussion in 'Computers, Cabling & Other Miscellaneous Hardware' started by Jcooper3584, Aug 8, 2019.

  1. Jcooper3584

    Jcooper3584 New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    I have just started playing around with pixels and have a beagebone black cape (Hanson HE123). I have flashed the beaglebone emmc with FPP and everything works fine when connected with USB (192.168.7.1). But, when I connect it directly to the computer or via a router, the beaglebone cannot be found.

    I have read that the beaglebone might have an issue with the ethernet not working due to a hardware issue. CAn anyone confirm this?

    Has anyone experienced this and if possible know of a fix?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    352
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Have you configured a static IP on the BBB while it was still connected to the USB. It should be in the same IP range as your computer and router. eg. 10.0.0.xxx or 192.168.0.xxx with a netmask of either 255.255.0.0 or 255.255.255.0 depending on your knowledge of your network.
    A screenshot of your BBB network setup within FPP cold help work out the issue.
    Your computer IP and router IP's can be found by going to a command prompt via CMD and typing in "ipconfig". It will list.your IPv4 IP which will be either 10.x.x.x or 192.x.x.x. The default gateway will give you the IP for your router.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Jcooper3584

    Jcooper3584 New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Alan.

    These are the settings with no router from both FPP(via usb) and CMD (only ethernet).
    upload_2019-8-9_7-41-41.png

    upload_2019-8-9_7-49-12.png
     
  4. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    352
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    It's the IP's that you have once you're connected to the router that are important. The IPconfig screenshot shows what I think is the default fallback IP for when no network is detected. Connect to your router and then post the same screenshot. The IP's that show then will affect what you need to set your BBB to.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Jcooper3584

    Jcooper3584 New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alan,

    Your a champion. Managed to get it to work with 192.168.1.3. However should i use this IP address? or change them all?

    upload_2019-8-9_10-13-45.png
     
  6. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    352
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    I personally keep my pc's to low IP's x.x.x.1 to x.x.x.20 and my FPP's to x.x.x.100 to x.x.x.255. No particular reason other than so I can see at a glance if it's a PC or FPP that's on an IP. The only important thing is that they are all on the same IP range (192.168.1.x in your case) and that everything with a static IP is on a different IP in that range.
     

Share This Page