Jumping into pixels in 2013

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by jimcllc, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. jimcllc

    jimcllc Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Find Me On:
    I have been reading for the past 2 months on and off about DMX, RGB, E1.31, and all that good stuff. I have a basic idea of what I want to do. How to do it is what I am learning. I do not want to ask questions on every step, my goal is to learn, understand, and be self sufficient. Soon I hope to have a diagram of my display laying out what I want and where, how many pixels to be used, and the distances in which it will be located from the controller. My equipment I plan on using will be a dedicated PC, D4 bridge, and the PC12r. I plan on putting:
    Four 4' white mini Christmas trees lit with 50 pixels each [​IMG]




    One 7' 5050 strip going up my little mega tree
    Two 8' belligio poles (light sticks/fire sticks) each with 8' 5050 light strips
    When I get my diagram drawn up I hope it will make more sense



    My question is this: as I progress is it ok to check my work here to make sure what I am doing will work before I go ahead and order it?
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Plenty of free advice here. Some of it's even correct! :D

    Just kidding. I'm sure you'll get useful help and feedback. :)
     
  3. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Thats all part of the function of the forum. Im sure you will get all the advice you need and pointed in the right direction if there is a better alternative to your plans.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    jimcllc

    jimcllc Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Find Me On:
    Great, thanks!
     
  5. dpavisic

    dpavisic Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
  6. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    Danny the difference is that the 2811 is wires (no clock) and the 2801 is 4 wires.
    alot have used the 2811 this year with no issues i plan on using them both in 2013. this year i only had 2801's
     
  7. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    The 2811 is the new chip of choice, most of the manuals dont have it as the 2811 has been around for 6 or so months. I have used the 2811 extensively this year and is what my 12 strip tree is using. I find the ECG controllers work best with the 2811 as you can adjust the data speed for the signal which you may need to do depending on the distance you are running between controller and first pixel. The fact that a 2811 strip which is nearly identicle as a CCR (2811 has better dimming) and costs $32 for a 5 metre strip, then there is nothing out there that comes close to the value offered by the 2811 strip.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    jimcllc

    jimcllc Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Find Me On:
    Awesome info eddy! Without knowing that I'm already planning on using those for 3 CCRs. Have you cut them without problems? I'll have to cut 2 in half.
     
  9. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    just a word of warning jim you may think you have the clap right now but when you get into pixel you really know you have the clap. you will love it. i know it is the best thining i have done wit hthe help and advice from eddy and the guys here in chat
     
  10. dpavisic

    dpavisic Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
  11. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    hi Danny those ones were not in 2801 until i asked ray if he could make them in 2801 as they were 6803. so if it was me i would just email him and ask him if he can make them in 2811.
     
  12. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Is it these modules that your looking for, i used these in my candy canes and at $12 for a string they are great value
     
  13. dpavisic

    dpavisic Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks, I have ordered these now.

    Do you think it a good idea to have a seperate section for currently suggested (as opposed to recommended) lights? I'm thinking that it will stop people like me pestering every one asking the same questions.

    cheers
     
  14. Dave H

    Dave H Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, Florida,
    Is it these modules that your looking for, i used these in my candy canes and at $12 for a string they are great value


    I noticed on the spec sheet for this module a reference to "HIGHMODE", this is the first I have ever seen that reference.
    Can someone explain this??
     
  15. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    The 2811 chips can be set to low or high speed data mode. As far as I know most of the pixel controllers that support 2811 should work with either type but you may have to fiddle with the settings.
     

Share This Page