Masters Outdoor Weatherproof Boxes

ewanh

what goes here?
Joined
Dec 14, 2010
Messages
185
Location
Langwarrin, VIC
Hi All,

A week or so ago, we had a discussion on waterproof boxes, and it was mentioned that there was $10 Weatherproof Outdoor Electrical boxes at Masters, the new hardware chain. I managed to stop by a store and was so impressed I bought their entire stock..... (ok it was only 3, but it sounds impressive)

They seem a very study box, can hold a power supply and have very weatherproof looking glands. I have taken a few photos to show everyone, as I know a few members can't get to their local store.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/81590665/outdoor%201.JPG

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/81590665/outdoor%202.JPG

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/81590665/outdoor%203.JPG

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/81590665/outdoor%204.JPG

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/81590665/outdoor%205.JPG

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/81590665/outdoor%206.JPG

If some of our rural members can;t get them, I might be willing to act as a distribution centre and collect a few then post at cost.

regards,
Ewan
 

BradsXmasLights

WiFi Interactive
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
581
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Yes these can be locked.

BTW the new Masters at North Lakes (Brisbane) have HEAPS of these in stock too. Way more than I have ever seen at Tingalpa or Morayfield.
 

burner

Full time elf
Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
315
Is there anywhere on these boxes that allow airflow through it?
 

Kaden

Pixels! I need more pixels!
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
Messages
724
Location
Gold Coast
burner said:
Is there anywhere on these boxes that allow airflow through it?
No, but that is a good point. What mods are people doing for air flow?
 

burner

Full time elf
Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
315
Would a drilled hole with a peice of 25 or 40mm pipe glued/siliconed in to the highest part on the side (horizontal mounted) be sufficient? You would need to put a piece of flyscreen or shade cloth over it to stop the bugs/insects too.
 

grungle25

Apprentice elf
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
53
Location
Darwin
I know this is a bit old but just in case you weren't away Masters do a very nice postage deal. I got three of these boxes and a couple of wall lights for my house and total postage was $11. The box all the stuff came in was huge so $11 is a bargain. It was also very fast, 3 days from Brisbane to Darwin. Looks like Masters got a sweet deal with Aust Post!

Cheers

Glenn
 

anon

Apprentice elf
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
91
Location
Adelaide
Agreed....there is none better for postage, and nor value for the box. I had 6 arrive this week (probably only need 4, but hey at this price!?!). By volume its 400x300x600mm, sent from Qld, for $9.


I'm sure someone is losing money somewhere along the line here!!
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2012
Messages
23
Hi just wondering how big of a power board fits in these, as the closet masters is 4 hours way, so I thought I would ask other members what size power board fits in size one, thanks
 

djgra79

My name is Graham & I love flashing lights!
Generous elf
Joined
Dec 27, 2011
Messages
1,474
Location
Cranbourne West
What are the dimensions of this box? Could it fit a PSU & a DC48 comfortably (if these were to be mounted on a board within the box?)

Cheers, Graham
 

penguineer

Full time elf
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
202
Location
Mount Tamborine, Qld
Lanas kids lights said:
Hi just wondering how big of a power board fits in these, as the closet masters is 4 hours way, so I thought I would ask other members what size power board fits in size one, thanks
djgra79 said:
What are the dimensions of this box? Could it fit a PSU & a DC48 comfortably (if these were to be mounted on a board within the box?)

Cheers, Graham
There is a wise old saying that if one could possibly do anything more than once a template should be made.

This is my template of the board I used to mount my LOR DC controllers into Masters boxes.



The cutouts on the corners are moulded areas for mounting the boxes to a wall/board and the cutout at the bottom is for the weatherproof gland.

The box should handle a 4-socket powerboard (the gland only has 5 recesses.

Does that help somewhat?

Cheers!
 
Top