Non-Standard P10 matrix shape

Discussion in 'Tips and Tricks' started by BradsXmasLights, May 4, 2016.

  1. BradsXmasLights

    BradsXmasLights WiFi Interactive

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Find Me On:
    Lets start with a video....

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6GfVCtyP30


    This simple test was wired as:
    - 4 panels chained off Output #1
    - 2 "missing" panels on Output #8 - that don't physically exist

    BBB Panel config:
    3x2 arrangement without outputs as

    Outputs:
    O8/P2 O1/P4 O8/P1
    O1/P3 O1/P2 O1/P1

    [font=verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif]As far as BBB/FPP is concerned, it see's as it as 6 panels still. We just trick it by sending the non-existent panels to unused port on the octoscroller.[/font]

    Then configure the sequencer as a 96x32 pixel grid (as it all 6 panels were there), then design your matrix content accordingly to miss the 'missing' panels!

    Effectively there'll be quite a few channels going to waste for the missing panels within the sequencing software - but at the end of the day it doesn't matter once the sequence is saved to the BBB & MultiSync'd to a master FPP.
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Excellent Brad. The use of non-rectangular areas can get away from the "oh, he has a big TV screen outside" look.
     
  3. bjpc2716

    bjpc2716 need more lights to light up the world

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    melbourne
    Find Me On:
    great job
     
  4. OP
    OP
    BradsXmasLights

    BradsXmasLights WiFi Interactive

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Find Me On:

    LOL, EXACTLY! :D
     
  5. CaptainMurdoch

    CaptainMurdoch Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is definitely a supported config, I demoed this functionality at the Expo last summer. You don't even need to define the 'missing' panels, just leave them as output 1 panel 1 and that is Ok.


    The backend code also allows some more creative configurations. For instance you could have 2 panels on the top row with only a 16x16 empty area at each corner. Or you could have 3 rows with 3 panels on the bottom, 2 panels in the middle, and 1 panel on top to make a taller triangle shape. This type of offset config is supported in the config file and backend code but the UI isn't flexible enough to let you do it through the UI.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    BradsXmasLights

    BradsXmasLights WiFi Interactive

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Find Me On:
    Which config file is this CaptainMurdoch?
     
  7. djgra79

    djgra79 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Cranbourne West
    Find Me On:
    This looks great Brad, nice work!
    How are you going to weatherproof this design up on the roof?
     
  8. CaptainMurdoch

    CaptainMurdoch Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    /home/fpp/media/config/channel outputs.json

    You can edit the X and y offsets of any configured panel and even have overlapping panels. You can also change the panel orientations. I will be running a mixed config this year with some panels vertical and some horizontal to fit the space I want to use.
     

Share This Page