XLights to Falcon Player to BegalBone Black to Octoscroller P10 help

NFI

New elf
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
16
Location
Coombabah QLD
Help needed please
I have been doing Xmas lights now for three year using LOR setup and Pixel lights, and now moving forward would like to use a P10 matrix in my display. I have purchased a BeagelBone Black, Octoscroller and 4 x 32 x 16 P10 panels. I have worked out how to install Falcon Player V2.5.3 (v2.5 Branch) onto the BeagelBone wire up the panels to the Octoscroller.
If I go to display testing on the Falcon Player I can get colours working on the screens. I have setup channel outputs on Falcon and Xlights I have tried Bridge mode, standalone but can't get text working on the matrix.
HELP Please
 

Derf

Full time elf
Joined
Dec 1, 2016
Messages
166
Location
Narellan, NSW
Check in Falcon pi Player that you have E1.31 enabled to send the data from your xlights PC to FPP when in bridge mode


Also ensure your Xlights channel mapping is 512 Channels per universe and not 510 channels
 

LawrenceDriveLights

Full time elf
Joined
Jan 16, 2018
Messages
276
Could you post a pic of your xLights matrix settings and a pic of the LED panel page from FPP
Could be something like you need to have the correct channels number in FPP for your Matrix
 

gerry

Senior elf
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
813
Location
Surrey Hills,Melbourne
What do u actually get on the output for the text ie nothing , skewed etc. May not be applicable in this case.. suggest that you either upgrade to 2.6 - u should see an upgrade button , or maybe Create the FSEQ file in v1 (Settings => FSEQ version) and upload and try (if pre 2.6))... if it appears that all your other settings are correct , but do post your settings first.
 

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3,515
Location
Eaglehawk
In the status screen of FPP are you seeing any updates for the universes assigned to the matrix. If you are then you are partially there at least. If there's no universes listed then you haven't asigned them in the bridge setup. If there's universes listed but no packets coming in then either the xlights universe configuration doesn't match FPP or you haven't clicked on the "output to lights" icon.
 

NFI

New elf
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
16
Location
Coombabah QLD
In the status screen of FPP are you seeing any updates for the universes assigned to the matrix. If you are then you are partially there at least. If there's no universes listed then you haven't asigned them in the bridge setup. If there's universes listed but no packets coming in then either the xlights universe configuration doesn't match FPP or you haven't clicked on the "output to lights" icon.
Hi Alan
I'm new to the site but if I join the dots are you Hanson electronics?
if so I bought of you all the parts that I'm using for this project from you
Update on progress
I was using my Mac to try and run the system when I first posted this thread, since then I'm now running for PC Laptop.
I have got some stuff working but looks like only over 4 of the 16 strings and it looks like each matrix (4 of) are working independently not scrolling from right to left.
On the FPP status screen it shows 2 Universes start address 513 and the packets and bytes are counting 0 errors
 

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3,515
Location
Eaglehawk
Yep. I'm Alan/Hanson Electronics.
Of the screens that you have posted I can't see any issues.
Can you post a screenshot or 2 from the layout tab of xlights?
You said that on the status screen 2 of the the universes are showing a start channel of 513. If this is the case can we see a screenshot of this as well.
 

NFI

New elf
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
16
Location
Coombabah QLD
Yep. I'm Alan/Hanson Electronics.
Of the screens that you have posted I can't see any issues.
Can you post a screenshot or 2 from the layout tab of xlights?
You said that on the status screen 2 of the the universes are showing a start channel of 513. If this is the case can we see a screenshot of this as well.
I hope this might help?Screenshot (8).pngIMG_0032.jpg
 

NFI

New elf
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
16
Location
Coombabah QLD
I have tried changing bottom left to top right and all that happens is the butterfly effect runs backwards, I have also changed the config so as to change the output on the octoscroller from 1 to 2 no difference.
I feel that I'm close and all it will be is a simple setting somewhere
 

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3,515
Location
Eaglehawk
Try changing to 128 x 16 as it's 128 wide by 16 high
 

LawrenceDriveLights

Full time elf
Joined
Jan 16, 2018
Messages
276
I have tried changing bottom left to top right and all that happens is the butterfly effect runs backwards, I have also changed the config so as to change the output on the octoscroller from 1 to 2 no difference.
I feel that I'm close and all it will be is a simple setting somewhere
Did you change the xLights settings for the starting location to "Top Left"?
 
Top